skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Fanny Owen   [6 October 1831]



My dear Charles.

Our letters must have crossed on the road— yours I received a few days ago; it was written indeed in a Blue devilish humour, and I’m sure imparted the same to me— I cannot bear to think my dear Charles that we are not to meet again for so long three years you say & I heard at first it was to be two— but that you will enjoy yourself I have not a doubt—& to remind you of the time you are to be absent, is nonsense & selvish— one last farewell—I cannot resist sending you— You say what changes will happen before you come back—“& you hope I shall not have quite forgotten you—” I doubt not you will find me in status quo at the Forest, only grown old & sedate —but wherever I may be whatever changes may have happen’d none there will ever be in my opinion of you —so do not my dear Charles talk of forgetting!! the many happy hours we have had together from the time we were Housemaid & Postillion together, are not to be forgotten—& would that there was not to be an end of them!! I dont know what we shall do at the Forest without you—& how sorry I shall be to have nobody to scold out of the Painting room— I have heard no particulars of your voyage from any body but that you expect to sail on the 15th—if you have a little spare half hour before you go do write to me again I should like so much to hear from you and direct Post Office Leamington— I shall be staying there for a few days with the Hunts on my way home— I leave Exeter next Monday the 10th—and am not sorry to do so— Caroline tells me you were actually walking about Plymouth the very day I was, I never did know any thing so unlucky we should not have crossed each other’s path!! This letter is not worth its postage I know I am more dull & matter of fact than any body ever was—but take the will for the deed my dear Charles—as I cannot see you to say good bye it is a melancholy satisfaction to scribble to you once more—

God bless you my dear Charles & may you enjoy every possible happiness is the sincere wish of yrs. most affectly F. Owen—

If you have any time do write—but if you do not—I shall well know it is not your own fault— once more Farewell | my dear Charles—


Their letters crossed; she now knows he will be gone for three years, not two; does not know what they will do without him at the Forest, but wishes him well.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frances (Fanny) Mostyn Owen/Frances (Fanny) Myddelton Biddulph
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
OC 6 1831
Source of text
DAR 204: 53
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 141,” accessed on 24 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1