skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Pamplin   4 [July 1862]1

Down Bromley Kent


Dear Sir

The paper did not arrive this morning by our weekly Carrier, but I presume was sent too late yesterday (Thursday) for him.—2

I write now to ask whether you keep any white paper for mounting plants when dryed; if so would you be so kind as to send one sheet of what you recommend per post with price marked per 12 ream or quire.—

I quite forgot to speak about this, when I wrote for drying paper, & apologise for extra trouble thus caused.—3

Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | C. Darwin


The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter, the letter to J. D. Hooker, 15 [May 1862], and the letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 May 1862] (Correspondence vol. 10). In 1862, the only month after May in which the 4th fell on a Friday was July.
George Snow, the Down village coal dealer, ran a carrier service to and from London every Thursday (Post Office directory of the six home counties 1862).
Joseph Dalton Hooker had recommended Pamplin, a botanical bookseller, as a source for paper for drying plants (Correspondence vol. 10, letter from J. D. Hooker, [17 May 1862]). CD evidently ordered the paper, but the letter has not been found. CD’s Classed account book (Down House MS) records a payment, under the heading ‘Science’, of £2 9s. 6d. to Pamplin for botanical paper on 3 August 1862.


Requests priced samples of paper for mounting dried plants.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Pamplin
Sent from
Source of text
Bangor University Archives and Special Collections (Pamplin papers PAMP/40)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 13871,” accessed on 27 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 13 (Supplement)