skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Richard Owen   [before 28 April 1850]1

Down Farnborough Kent


My dear Owen

This requires no answer, without it be a favourable one: it is to say that I am particularly anxious to see a valve of a Cirripede in late Mr Dixon’s Collection figured Pl XXVIII fig 9,2 as well as those other ones (fig. 3 & 4: Pl. XIV)3 of which I before told you, & which you very kindly said you wd endeavour to borrow for me.—

I hope that you are not killing yourself at your usual rate with hard work—

Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin


Dated from the relationship to the letter to Richard Owen, 28 April [1850] (see n. 2, below).
Tab. XXVIII, fig. 9, refers to F. Dixon 1850. The plate is reproduced in Fossil Cirripedia (1851): 38. The specimen was evidently in the possession of Frederick Dixon’s widow, to whom Owen directed CD (see letter to Richard Owen, 28 April [1850]).
Tab. XIV, figs. 3 and 4, are in Sowerby and Sowerby 1812–46, vol. 7.


Dixon, Frederick. 1850. The geology and fossils of the Tertiary and Cretaceous formations of Sussex. London.

Sowerby, James and Sowerby, James de Carle. 1812–46. The mineral conchology of Great Britain; or, coloured figures and descriptions of those remains of testaceous animals or shells, which have been preserved at various times and depths in the earth. Vols. 1–4 by James Sowerby; vols. 5–7 continued by J. de C. Sowerby. London.


Asks to borrow a cirripede specimen from collection of Frederick Dixon.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Richard Owen
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.89)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1357,” accessed on 18 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4