skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Abraham Clapham   10 December [1849]

Down Farnborough Kent

Dec. 10th

Dear Sir

I happened about a week since to be thinking whether I should hear from you this autumn,1 & accordingly was pleased to receive your obliging letter. Considering your removal & the multiplicity of business it must have cost you, it is quite surprising that you should have been enabled to make so many experiments on phloxes & the mimuli: I shall be very much obliged for particulars hereafter: it is certainly a most curious & interesting subject.—

Thank you for your enquiries about my health, which is greatly improved, though I am far yet from a strong man.—

With my best thanks & wishes for all sorts of success in your curious experiments. Believe me | Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | C. Darwin


See letter to Abraham Clapham, [29 October 1847?]. In Variation 1: 377, CD cited Clapham on hawthorn crosses and identified him as a ‘nurseryman of Bradford’. In letter from Abraham Clapham, 8 March 1850, Clapham gave his address as Scarborough, Yorkshire.


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Comments on AC’s experiments on Phlox and Mimulus.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Abraham Clapham
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.86)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1278,” accessed on 17 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4