skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Victor Marshall   [after 4 November 1879]1

Monk Coniston, | Ambleside.

Dear Mr Darwin

I was on the point of writing to you to ask whether the seeds had ripened. I am very sorry that they have failed, however I shall value the plant whatever it is that you send—2 Is there any chance of your coming round this way again before long?3 If so perhaps you will plant the tree yourself— But anyhow supposing you send it in the spring, I can plant it, & in case the opportunity arises you can transplant it. So I will put it in an inappropriate place hoping some day that you will set matters right.

We have had very comfortable weather lately—not too hot but quite warm enough— The colours of the leaves have been splendid   We intend to be in town, 10 Petersham terrace Gloucester Rd., for the 1st. 17 weeks of this year & I hope we may see you.4

Yrs very truly | Victor Marshall

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Victor Marshall, 4 November [1879].
CD had hoped to send acorns from a cork oak tree for Marshall to plant in his garden as a memorial of CD’s visit (see letters to Victor Marshall, 14 September 1879 and 4 November [1879]).
The Darwins had stayed at Coniston in the Lake District from 2 to 27 August 1879 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
The address is in South Kensington, London.

Summary

Hopes CD will be able to plant a tree in VAEGM’s garden as a memorial of his visit.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12207
From
Victor Alexander Ernest Garth (Victor) Marshall
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Ambleside
Source of text
DAR 171: 45
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12207,” accessed on 1 December 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12207.xml

letter