skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Farrer   27 June [1879]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R. [6 Queen Anne Street, London.]

June 27th.

My dear Farrer

I have seen your most kind note to Horace, & should much like to have ten minutes conversation with you. Pray do not suppose that I want to argue with you on your determination. I wish only to try to make Horace’s conduct appear less presumptuous in your eyes than it must naturally appear to you.2

I would call on you anywhere this evening or as early as you like tomorrow morning, if you will grant me an interview.

Believe me | my dear Farrer | Yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the reference to Horace Darwin (see n. 2, below).
Farrer had left a note for Horace the previous day at the home of Erasmus Alvey Darwin, where the Darwins were staying (letter from Emma Darwin to Sara Darwin, [1 July 1879] (DAR 219.1: 123); CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). In the note, Farrer had explained his objections to an engagement between Horace and his daughter, Ida Farrer. Farrer had explained that Horace’s health and lack of a profession were his main concerns (letter from T. H. Farrer to Horace Darwin, [26 June 1879] (Down House MS, EH 88207899)).

Summary

Wishes to call on THF to discuss the situation with regard to Horace Darwin [who wishes to marry THF’s daughter, Emma Cecilia (Ida)].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12125
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st baronet and 1st Baron Farrer
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 185: 21
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12125,” accessed on 12 August 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12125.xml

letter