skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   1 October [1878]1

Down, Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station, Orpington | S.E.R.

Oct. 1st

My dear Sir

I enclose a cheque for 11£.. 19s.. 9d and will transmit 7£. " 9s. " 4d to Fritz Müller.2

Thanks for the account of the sale of my books, which appear to be in a lamentable state.3

Yours very faithfully| Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the reference to the cheques (see n. 2, below).
On 1 October 1878, CD recorded in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS) the payment of cheques for £11 19s. 9d. to John Murray under the heading ‘Class as 19. 9. 1 for presentation copies’ (i.e. the sum of the payments to Murray and Müller), and £7 9s. 4d. to H. Müller under the heading ‘For Fritz Müller’. Hermann Müller was Fritz Müller’s brother; the money was for sales of Dallas trans. 1869 (the English translation of F. Müller 1864).
An account of sales of Dallas trans. 1869 as well as CD’s own books to June 1878 is in DAR 210.11: 13. The amount owing for sales of Dallas trans. 1869 is given as £7 9s. 4d. CD evidently paid Fritz Müller and deducted the sum from what he owed Murray for presentation copies. CD had arranged to have the translation made and published (see Correspondence vol. 16).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Summary

Encloses a cheque for £11.19.9. Will transmit £7.9.4 to Fritz Müller. Thanks for account of the sale of his books, which appears to be in a "lamentable state".

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11712A
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
John Murray
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 147: 176

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11712A,” accessed on 20 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11712A.xml

letter