skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [25 October 1847]1



My dear Hooker

Thanks for your second note correcting the date. If you sail on the 10th & therefore cannot come to me on the 6th (& very sorry my wife will be not to wish you good bye) I will, if it will suit you, come to Kew on Thursday morning & have my phaeton there, & so go straight home in the evening, after spending 2 or 3 hours there.—

Will you let me know, as soon as you know yourself; I shall be here till Tuesday morning early the 2d., & at 7 Park St Grosvenor Square on Tuesday & Wednesday nights; I tell this for you to direct a line to me.— If you are enabled to come to Down I will let you know of a late Train, which I cannot do now, as the Trains are to be altered on Novr 1st.—

I will ask Falconer to come, whether you do or not.—

I must see you again to say in person with how much cordiality & truth, I wish you throughout life success & happiness

Ever my dear Hooker | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin


The Monday following the letter to J. D. Hooker, [21 October 1847], and the first Monday of CD’s trip to Shrewsbury (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix I).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Continued problems in scheduling farewell meeting.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 106
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1130,” accessed on 28 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4