skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. Darwin   [after 28 October 1877]1

My dear G.

I have thought that you possibly might like to see enclosed, just received.—2 I am heartily glad that your work prospers, but do for Heaven sake strive against overwork—3 You will have seen by your mother’s letter that I have fixed (before receiving your letter) Dec. 6th & so write to V. Chancellor.— Dr Cartmell begged me not to fix Decb. 15th4

Yours affect | C.D.—

You will have to get us rooms.—5

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. H. Darwin, [28 October 1877].
The enclosure has not been found.
George had confessed that he was feeling unwell from working constantly on his paper on the tides in the interior of the earth (see letter from G. H. Darwin, [28 October 1877]).
Emma Darwin’s letter to George has not been found, but see the letter to Edward Atkinson, 27 October 1877, in which CD suggested that he receive his honorary degree on 6 December. CD later learned that the best time in George’s opinion would be the week of 18 to 23 November (see letter from G. H. Darwin, [28 October 1877]). James Cartmell was the master of Christ’s College, Cambridge, CD’s undergraduate college.
George would have had to arrange accommodation for all the members of the Darwin family who planned to attend the degree ceremony.

Summary

Has given dates [for the Cambridge University honorary degree] to the Vice-Chancellor.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11216
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
George Howard Darwin
Sent from
unstated
Source of text
DAR 210.1: 60
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11216,” accessed on 25 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11216.xml

letter