skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Farrer   27 August [1877]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Aug. 27th

My dear Farrer

Your news is glorious & it was very good of you thus to rejoice me.— I am particularly surprised at the worms coming up through the walls. Forty holes!!!2

I cannot remember a more delightful week than the last.— I know very well that Effie will not believe me, but the worms were by no means the sole charm. Affectionate remembrances to all at the paradise.— I do hope dear Fanny continues as well as over two last days.3

I have just remembered that this note is of no use as you will be away, but as it is written it shall go.4

Yours ever very truly | Charles Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from T. H. Farrer, 26 August 1877.
Katherine Euphemia (Effie) Farrer was Farrer’s wife; Frances Emma Elizabeth Wedgwood was her mother.
In his letter of 26 August 1877, Farrer had mentioned that he could not make observations the following week; he was away from 27 August to 5 September 1877 (see letter from T. H. Farrer, 23 September 1877).


CD is delighted with report from THF about activity of worms in Roman-British ruins at Abinger.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Sent from
Source of text
Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/26)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11114,” accessed on 20 January 2022,