skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   10 August 1877

Royal Gardens Kew

Augt. 10. 77

Dear Mr Darwin

Lynch has not been very successful in finding you any more plants; a few, however, have been sent as possibly useful.1 He tells me that the Echeverias Nelumbium & Pancratium all suffer when their bloom is removed.2

Do you want any maritime plants. Mr Smith the Curator is staying at Bude and would get you anything to be found there3

Yours very truly | W. T. Thiselton Dyer

CD annotations

1.3 all … removed.] double scored ink

Footnotes

See letter to W. T. Thiselton-Dyer, 7 August 1877. A list of the plants sent, dated ‘Aug. 10. 77’, is in the archives of Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 82). It lists Nelumbium esculentum (an unpublished name), Echeveria spp., Arundo donax (giant reed), Pancratium littorale (a synonym of Hymenocallis littoralis, beach spiderlily), and Suaeda fruticosa (a synonym of S. vermiculata, seablite). Richard Irwin Lynch was foreman of the propagating department at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.
Echeveria is a large genus of succulent plants in the family Crassulaceae (stonecrop or orpine). Nelumbium (a synonym of Nelumbo) is a genus of aquatic plants in the family Nelumbonaceae. Pancratium is a genus of plants in the family Amaryllidaceae.
John Smith was staying at the seaside resort town of Bude in Cornwall.

Summary

Information on plants requested by CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11100
From
William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Kew
Source of text
DAR 178: 100
Physical description
2pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11100,” accessed on 23 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11100.xml

letter