skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. W. Judd   24 April 1877

Royal School of Mines | Jermyn Street. S.W.

24th. April 1877.

My dear Sir,

I greatly regret that I was absent when you called to-day—1 I am usually here soon after 12 o’clock—but if it would suit you better I could come in at an earlier hour on any day that you named—

Now that the election for the Royal Society has taken place, I hope that I may be forgiven for expressing the great gratification I feel in the circumstance that you did me the great honour of placing your name on my certificate—2 I assure you that the remembrance of this will always be a source of pleasure and an incentive to work to me

Believe me to remain | Yours very faithfully | John W Judd.

C. Darwin Esq.

Footnotes

CD visited London from 20 to 28 April 1877, staying first with his daughter and son-in-law, Henrietta Emma and Richard Buckley Litchfield, and from Tuesday 24 April with his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
CD had signed the certificate, dated 22 December 1875, proposing Judd for election to the Royal Society of London (Royal Society archive, GB 117, EC/1877/09; see also Correspondence vol. 23, letter from Nevil Story-Maskelyne, 26 December 1875); Judd’s nomination was resuspended in 1877. The council of the Royal Society had drawn up a list of candidates recommended for election at their meeting of 19 April 1877, and evidently informed the successful candidates (Royal Society council minutes, CMO/XV). Although the formal election took place on 7 June 1877, those recommended by the council were always elected by the fellows.

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Summary

Grateful for CD’s support for his election as F.R.S.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10940
From
John Wesley Judd
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Royal School of Mines
Source of text
DAR 168: 83
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10940,” accessed on 19 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10940.xml

letter