skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. S. Ffinden   9 December 1876

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Dec. 9th 1876

My dear Sir

I have the pleasure to enclose 9£ for the Down Coal & Clothing Club,—consisting of 5£ from self, 1£ from my son George; & 3£ from my son Francis.—1

My dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The Down Coal and Clothing Club was a local charity that supplied parishioners with coal and clothes in exchange for regular savings; for more on CD’s charitable work, see Moore 1985, p. 466, and Browne 2002, pp. 452–4. CD recorded a payment of £5 to the Down Coal and Clothing Club on 9 December 1876 in his Classed account books (Down House MS).


Browne, Janet. 2002. Charles Darwin. The power of place. Volume II of a biography. London: Pimlico.

Moore, James Richard. 1985. Darwin of Down: the evolutionist as squarson-naturalist. In The Darwinian heritage, edited by David Kohn. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press in association with Nova Pacifica (Wellington, NZ).


Sends £9 for Down Coal and Clothing Club, consisting of £5 for self, £1 for his son George, and £3 for his son Francis.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Sketchley Ffinden
Sent from
Source of text
The 19th Century Shop (dealers) (May 1990)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10706A,” accessed on 4 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24