skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   [1 March 1847]1

3 Gt Ryder St


Dear Darwin

I shall be with you on Wednesday Morning at 7 Park Street but doubt reaching you before 9’30, as I must be home on Tuesday evening & there is no Buss before 812 from Kew; which would suit me well. I have an awful lot to talk about. What do you think of a Cape (exclusively) genus having turned up in Portugal. Granting mutation to your extent there ought to be reversions from aberrant forms or species to the original type or species: such occurring in distant localities would produce similar or identical species in said localities.—

All this will do better for a palaver. it is easier to me than migration. Your Gnats you know are my Camels & vice versa exactly.2 Any man with an average conscience must feel himself desperately hemmed & hedged in when reasoning on such

CD annotations

crossed pencil
1.4 Portugal] scored, brown crayon; ‘11’ added brown crayon
‘5’added brown crayon
crossed pencil
Top of verso: ‘20’brown crayon


Dated by the relationship to the letters to J. D. Hooker, [28 February 1847] and [1 March 1847].
Matthew 23: 24, ‘Blind guides, which strain at a gnat, and swallow a camel.’


Will come to 7 Park St. on Wednesday for a palaver on distribution, species mutability, migration, etc.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Gt Ryder St, 3
Source of text
DAR 100: 74
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1067,” accessed on 28 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4