skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Robert Hutton   [1847 – 12 November 1848]1

Down Farnborough | Kent


My dear Mr. Hutton

The next morning after seeing you at the Geolog. Soc.2 I heard from my Father, that he had written to an old friend, who, as he thought probable, was intimate with Lady E. Finch,3 & thus I have got a good introduction. I write this to save you or your friend any further trouble, & I thank you heartily for your very kind readiness to help me.

Believe me | Very truly yours | C. Darwin

Pray give my kind compliments to Mrs & the Miss Huttons


The letter has an 1847 watermark. The closing date is the Sunday before the death of CD’s father Robert Waring Darwin on 13 November 1848.
Hutton, like CD, was on the council of the Geological Society of London.
Lady Emily Georgiana Finch-Hatton. She and her husband, George William Finch-Hatton, Earl of Winchilsea and Earl of Nottingham, lived at Haverholme Priory, near Sleaford in Lincolnshire. Both CD and Robert Waring Darwin owned property in Lincolnshire. It is not clear from the letter whom CD wished to meet: Lady Finch-Hatton died on 10 July 1848.


Tells RH that he has secured an introduction to Lady Emily Finc[-Hatton] through a friend of his father’s. Thanks RH for his efforts.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Hutton
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.67)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1040,” accessed on 28 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4