skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Albert Günther   28 January [1877]1

Down| Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Jan 28. 76

My dear Dr Günther,

I have signed the enclosed certificates with the greatest pleasure.2

If you think it worth while to send me the numbers of any labels which are still attached, I can give the habitat with certainty.3 In some few cases I recorded the colours, & more especially the habits of the species.

Believe me | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letters to Albert Günther, 25 February [1877] and 3 March 1877; 1876 was evidently written in error.
CD signed Günther’s certificate of recommendation for fellowship of the Linnean Society; Günther was elected on 1 March 1877 (Proceedings of the Linnean Society of London (1876–77): xvi).
Günther had evidently enquired about spider specimens that CD deposited at the British Museum after the Beagle voyage. Günther made notes on the back of this letter for his reply: ‘tube with spider. No. 2 | — — — No. 235 tin label | — — — No. 1442 " " ’. His reply has not been found, but see the letter to Albert Günther, 3 March 1877.

Summary

Has signed certificates.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10372
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF ZOO/200/11/113)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10372,” accessed on 24 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10372.xml

letter