skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. W. Clarke   12 January 1876

Thos’: Wm’: Clarke, | 29 Pemberton Square, | Boston,

Jan. 12 1876

Chas. Darwin Esq. | Care of Secretary | Royal Society | London | England.

Dear Sir,

In your studies of Expression in man & animals1 you have omitted a source of material, which the enclosed will doubtless suggest. It is the photographers failures with children’s pictures. I enclose two photographs of my little boy 3 ys old, failures which I have had printed for your inspection on this point   The story of the photographer is on the back of each

Very Respy | Thos: Wm: Clarke

[Enclosure 1]



Jan. 8. 1876

Thomas Wm Clarke Jr 3 yrs old hearing the photographer’s story of the little girl who sewed her finger on a sewing machine, he having had the same experience shortly before

[Enclosure 2]



Jan. 8. 1876

Thomas Wm Clarke Jr 3 yrs old hearing the photographers story of a comical dog & his antics and tricks himself being acquainted with many dogs & having fondness for them.

CD annotations

Verso of letter: ‘2 photos: | Child of 3 yrs | 1/ sympathetically pained | 2/ amused by a story.’ pencil



Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Two photographs of T. W. Clarke, Jr, aged three, offered as examples of expression.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas William Clarke
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Boston Mass.
Source of text
DAR 161: 170
Physical description
1p †, 2 photos

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10355,” accessed on 23 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24