skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From A. W. Bennett   17 December 1875

6, Park Village East, | Regent’s Park, | N.W.

Dec. 17th. 1875.

My dear Sir

I can hardly tell you what pleasure it gave me to receive your very kind letter, which I did not get till late last evening.1 To make your personal acquaintance has been a dream of my life, which I had scarcely hoped to see fulfilled. I shall be perfectly disengaged all Sunday morning; & it will give me very great pleasure to see you. But if more convenient & agreeable to you, & less likely to be injurious to your health this foggy weather, will you permit me to call upon you instead. Should you come will you give Mrs Bennett2 & myself the additional pleasure of breakfasting with us at 9.30 or any other hour you may name?

I shall be particularly glad of this opportunity of meeting, as there are some points in my own observations of the leaves of Drosera & Pinguicula which I much want to submit to you before publishing, & could hardly do so in a letter.3

Pray do not take the trouble to write more than a single line in reply to this

& believe me, | my dear Sir | yrs most truly | Alfred W. Bennett

C. Darwin Esq.

When you come please make the driver understand that it is Park Village East & not West you want. Our house is almost close to the “York & Albany”.

Footnotes

Katherine Bennett.
Bennett had read a paper on the absorptive glands of carnivorous plants at the Royal Microscopical Society on 1 December 1875; in it he discussed bodies embedded in the leaves of Drosera that he thought might be associated with digestion. He noted that the existence of these bodies had not been recorded by other observers or mentioned by CD in Insectivorous plants (Bennett 1876). In the published version, Bennett added a footnote stating that he had since had the pleasure of showing his preparations to CD who told him that these bodies had not hitherto engaged his attention (ibid., p. 3 n.).

Bibliography

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Is delighted CD plans to call on him.

Wants to discuss botanical work.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10302
From
Alfred William Bennett
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Park Village East, 6
Source of text
DAR 160: 144
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10302,” accessed on 5 July 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-10302.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter