skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   13 [July 1875]1

45, Charles Street


My dear Mr Darwin

I wrote a few days ago to thank you for the great pleasure you had afforded me by sending me your book—2 I can assure you I am reading it with the greatest interest— there is only one thing wanting— if you would give me your autograph to put in to the book it would enhance its value so much in my eyes— Prince Teck was so disappointed he did not see you—3 If at any time you could ever let me come again and pay you and Mrs Darwin a visit I should be truly delighted4

Ys most truly | Dorothy Nevill


The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from D. F. Nevill, 2 July [1875].
Francis, duke of Teck, had planned to visit the Darwins on 11 May 1875 (see letter to John Lubbock, 3 May [1875] and n. 3).
Nevill had visited the Darwins for lunch on 4 May 1875 (see letter from Francis Darwin, [4 May 1875] and n. 4).


Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Thanks CD again for his book [Insectivorous plants];

would like an autograph to put in it.

Would be delighted if ever she could visit Down again.

Letter details

Letter no.
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Charles St, 45
Source of text
DAR 172: 29
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10063,” accessed on 27 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23