skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Mr Russell   26 June [1875]1

June 26th

Dear Sir

I am very sorry that you have had so much trouble about my address.— My house is seven miles from Beckenham in an out of the way place, & I have been & am still absent from my home— I would suggest you sending the book, which Mr Fitzgerald has been so kind as to send to me, either by post or Railway to me, & after I have seen it, will write to Mr. Fitzgerald.2

Pray accept my thanks & I remain Dear Sir | Yours Faithfully | Ch. Darwin.


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Mr Russell, 12 July 1875. The correspondent is referred to as ‘Mr Russell’ in the letter to R. D. Fitzgerald, 16 July 1875. He has not been further identified.
The book was the first part of Robert David Fitzgerald’s Australian orchids (Fitzgerald 1875–94; see letter to Mr Russell, 12 July 1875). Fitzgerald had evidently asked Russell to give a copy of it to CD.


Fitzgerald, Robert David. 1875–94. Australian orchids. 2 vols. Sydney: Thomas Richards.


Is sorry his correspondent has had so much trouble about his address. Suggests he send the book from R. D. Fitzgerald [Australian orchids, vol. 1 (1875–82)] either by post or by rail.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Mr Russell
Sent from
Abinger Hall Down letterhead
Source of text
Nate’s Autographs (dealer) (January 1995)
Physical description
2pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10031F,” accessed on 21 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23