skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin Francis" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
290 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From J. Niven to Francis Darwin   12 March 1882

Summary

Sends [for CD’s possible use] his observations on spines of fir used by worms to block burrows.

Author:  James Niven
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  12 Mar 1882
Classmark:  DAR 64.2: 101–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13726

From Francis Darwin to R. L. Tait   30 March 1882

Summary

CD will be glad to keep the proof of the medal.

He is decidedly better again.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Date:  30 Mar 1882
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13749

From William Graham to Francis Darwin   [after 20 April 1882]

Summary

Sends enclosed letters and hopes they are not too late. Letter of 8 July 1881 important because it contains clear statement of CD’s attitude to religious questions.

Author:  William Graham
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [after 20 April 1882]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 483
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13769G

DCP-LETT-2055

Author:  Edmund Langton
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 245
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2055

From Francis Galton to Francis Darwin   7 April 1871

Summary

CD will take care of the eight little rabbits. FG outlines their future.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  7 Apr 1871
Classmark:  DAR 105: A25–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7662

From Samuel Butler to Francis Darwin   [before 30 May 1872]

Summary

Sends drawings of dogs in different attitudes, drawn by his friend A. May. FD should not trouble CD unless he thinks the drawings will please him. [See Expression, pp. 54–5.]

Author:  Samuel Butler
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [before 30 May 1872]
Classmark:  DAR 106: A6–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8305

From Francis Darwin to Daniel Oliver   [after 6 January 1875]

Summary

Asks DO to return enclosed post-card with locality of Genlisea aurea specimen that DO had sent.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  [after 6 Jan 1875]
Classmark:  Newcastle University Special Collections (Spence Watson/Weiss Archive GB186 SW/6/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9803F

From Francis Darwin   [after 3 June 1875]

Summary

Returns corrected proofs [of Insectivorous plants].

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 3 June 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10007F

From Francis Darwin   [1 September 1875 or later]

Summary

Proofs have come. It will be jolly coming down to Southampton.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Sept 1875 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10153F

From Francis Darwin   [15–8 September 1873]

Summary

FD has asked J. B. Sanderson about Mucin.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [15–18 Sept 1873]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10156F

To Francis Darwin   [31 August 1875 or later]

Summary

Sends proofs of Variation [2d ed.] for FD to look over.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [31 Aug 1875 or later]
Classmark:  DAR 271.3: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10178

From Francis Darwin   [before 8 December 1875]

Summary

Sends Linnean papers.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 8 Dec 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10287F

From Francis Darwin   [after 2 December 1875]

Summary

Sends thanks for CD’s help in making him a Fellow of the Linnean Society. Dyer has sent some Erinem.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 2 Dec 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 33
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10287G

From Francis Darwin   [13 December 1875]

Summary

[The black-balling of Edwin Ray Lankester by the Linnean Society] is a most scandalous shame. Will arrange for his own admission to fellowship of the Society.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [13 Dec 1875]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 30
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10362F

From Hermann Müller to Francis Darwin   16 February 1876

Summary

Sends Fritz Müller’s view that many of the pointed appendages on the tip of the maxilla of Vanessa atalanta are organs of feeling or taste.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  16 Feb 1876
Classmark:  DAR 68: 159–60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10397

To Francis Darwin   [30 April 1876]

Summary

CD has just had an interview with Edward Frankland, who "almost laughs" at FD’s idea of getting potash and soda out of the soil by treating it with sulphuric acid. Asks FD to send him a soil sample to give to Frankland. Sends enclosures giving address and labels for soil samples.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [30 Apr 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 271.4: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10485B

From Francis Darwin   [1 May 1876]

Summary

Good news about Frankland. Expecting burnt earth. Almost finished the Foodbodies Paper on Acacia. He and Amy are learning to use the new printing machine.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 May 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10488F

To Francis Darwin   [1 May 1876]

Summary

Expresses his pride in FD, whose article ["On the structure of the snail’s heart", J. Anat. Physiol. 10 (1876): 506–10] was highly praised by G. H. Lewes.

Lewes has also been quoting FD’s letter in Nature [13 (1876): 384–5] on pycrotoxine in relation to the vivisection controversy.

Was introduced to James Sully, author of the article in Mind on Wilhelm Wundt ["Physiological psychology in Germany", 1 (1876): 20–43]

and Sensation and intuition (1874) [see 10320], by "Mrs Lewes" (George Eliot).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [1 May 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 271.4: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10489A

From Francis Darwin   2 May 1876

Summary

Has read letter from Jemmy. Amy has been practicing on the printing machine. Fritz has come back from the Vicar of Orpington.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10492F

From Francis Darwin   27 May 1876

Summary

Has had a cold. Salvia hasn't come yet. Will look for orchids tomorrow. Will send off bull's-horn acacia on Monday or Tuesday.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 May 1876
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 25
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10515G
Document type
letter (290)
Date
1859 (1)
1866 (1)
1867 (1)
1868 (2)
1869 (2)
1870 (7)
1871 (15)
1872 (8)
1873 (23)
1874 (5)
1875 (14)
1876 (32)
1877 (19)
1878 (58)
1879 (37)
1880 (17)
1881 (40)
1882 (8)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next