skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1844 in date disabled_by_default
94 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5

To W. D. Fox   20 December [1844]

Summary

Tells of his father’s ill health.

Discusses mesmerism and Harriet Martineau’s recovery. If animals could be put into a stupor, he would be convinced. Suggests WDF have some mesmeriser attempt it with cats.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  20 Dec [1844]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 70)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-801

From W. B. Carpenter   21 December 1844

Summary

Discusses microscopic examination of rock specimens taken from Pampas deposit and from Chilean tuff. Says he finds organic remains only in the tuff.

Author:  William Benjamin Carpenter
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Dec 1844
Classmark:  DAR 39: 33–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-802

To J. D. Hooker   25 December [1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Questions on JDH’s sketch comparing floras of Australia, New Zealand, and western S. America; wishes to know botanical relations between other southern islands. Botanico-geographical discussions and comments on books sent by JDH.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  25 Dec [1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-803

To William Benjamin Carpenter   25 December [1844]

Summary

Is obliged for the account of the structure of the Pampas specimen and its difference from specimens of the modern calcareous bed of Coquimbo in Chile. If he thinks that J. S. Bowerbank can make out the nature of the specimens, they should be shown to him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Benjamin Carpenter
Date:  25 Dec [1844]
Classmark:  Frederick Goldschlager
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-803A

From J. D. Hooker   30 December 1844

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for CD’s comments on "sketch".

Lengthy discussion of geographical distribution and island floras.

Has been "delighted with" [Robert Chambers’] Vestiges [of creation (1844)].

Galapagos flora work goes on well.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Dec 1844
Classmark:  DAR 100: 32–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-804

To Susan Darwin   [27 November 1844?]

thumbnail

Summary

Sends thanks for money.

Comments on treatment prescribed by his father.

Encloses notes by John Higgins with investment advice. Discusses advisability of investing in farmland in Lincolnshire. Cites advice of Sir John Lubbock concerning purchase of land.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  [27 Nov 1844?]
Classmark:  DAR 92: A9–10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-833

To Emma Darwin   [3 June 1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Arrangements for Emma’s return to Down.

CD has been "wonderfully strong".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [3 June 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-726

To Julian Jackson   23 May [1844]

Summary

Discusses a paper on the Rio Negro.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julian Jackson; Royal Geographical Society
Date:  23 May [1844]
Classmark:  Royal Geographical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-751

From George Brettingham Sowerby and Edward Forbes   28 May 1844

Summary

[Recto is a list of Galapagos shells, by island, signed GBS. Verso is another list of shells in EF’s hand.]

Author:  George Brettingham Sowerby; Edward Forbes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 May 1844
Classmark:  DAR 46.2: B1–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-752

To Emma Darwin   5 July 1844

Summary

Asks that in the event of his death, Emma should have the sketch of his species theory edited and published. Suggests possible editors, among them Lyell, Edward Forbes, and J. D. Hooker. [CD annotation on cover: "Hooker by far best man to edit my species volume Aug 1854".]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  5 July 1844
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Special Collections MSS DAR A4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-761

To Josiah Wedgwood III and E. A. Darwin   25 July 1844

Summary

Requests to JW III and EAD as trustees of the marriage-settlement, to make some funds available.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III; Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Date:  25 July 1844
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 1012)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-766

To Leonard Jenyns   12 October [1844]

Summary

Asks whether LJ can throw light on this subject: "What are the checks and what the periods of life by which the increase of any given species is limited?" CD has been driven to conclude that species are mutable; allied species are co-descendants from common stocks.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  12 Oct [1844]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-782

To Emma Darwin   [20 or 27 October 1844]

Summary

Has been discussing wills and other legal matters with his father.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [20 or 27] Oct 1844
Classmark:  Emma Darwin 2: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-783

To Leonard Jenyns   25 [November 1844]

Summary

On checks to increase of species and the observations which led him to regard species as mutable in form. Would welcome "at some future time" LJ’s criticism of the "sketch" of his conclusions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  25 [Nov 1844]
Classmark:  Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-793
Document type
letter (94)
Date
1844disabled_by_default
01 (7)
02 (6)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (5)
06 (9)
07 (11)
08 (4)
09 (6)
10 (8)
11 (12)
12 (13)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5