skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1867::02 in date disabled_by_default
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To William Turner   1 February [1867]


Thanks for information about rudimentary organs. Asks about rudimentary character of human hair and panniculus carnosus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner
Date:  1 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Dc.2.96/5 folio 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5386

From William Darwin Fox   1 February [1867]


Wants to know whether Variation is published and how the other book [CD’s proposed volume on variation in nature] is going.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 185
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5388

From Fritz Müller   2 February 1867


Thanks for CD’s letter inquiring about capsules produced by the Maxillaria with larger pods [see 5331]. Gives descriptions of Maxillaria and of the other Vandeae.

Describes Oncidium flexuosum.

Tells of botanical results of recent excursion to the German colony Theresopolis. Brought home fine collection of living orchids.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Feb 1867
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 109–11; DAR 70: 146
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5389A

From J. D. Hooker   4 February 1867



Has declined Presidency of BAAS.

Relation of insular and continental genera will always be difficult problem.

On Providence and the "continuity theory".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 138–142
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5390

From Lydia Ernestine Becker   6 February 1867


Thanks CD for Lythrum paper [Collected papers 2: 106–31] and "Climbing plants" sent to Manchester Ladies’ Literary Society. Comments on Lythrum.

Author:  Lydia Ernestine Becker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 160: 115
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5391

To W. D. Fox   6 February [1867]


Has just sent MS of Variation off to printer. Is in darkness about its merits.

News of family and their health. Riding seems to help him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  6 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 147)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5392

To Fritz Müller   7 February [1867]


CD’s Variation is in printer’s hands.

Orchid self-sterility.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  7 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5393

From William Henry Kinnaird Gibbons   7 February 1867


Asks CD whether he has given any thought to the phenomena of spiritualism.

Author:  W. H. S Gibbons
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 165: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5394

To J. D. Hooker   8 February [1867]


On the Duke of Argyll and a review of his Reign of law.

Asa Gray’s theological view of variation. God’s role in formation of organisms; JDH’s view of Providence.

Insular and continental genera.

Owen on continuity and ideal types

and on bones of Mauritius deer.

On man.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 10–13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5395

From William Turner   8 February 1867



On muscles in man for moving skin, hair, ears, etc.

Author:  William Turner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 80: B152–3c
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5396

From J. V. Carus   11 February 1867


Sends CD an English translation of his preface to the revised German edition of Origin and asks his opinion of it.

Asks CD where he might get a specimen of Eozoon.

Author:  Julius Victor Carus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 161: 55, 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5397

To William Turner   11 February [1867]


Thanks WT for information.

Will not include chapter on man in Variation but plans separate essay in future.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner
Date:  11 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 148: 155
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5398

From J. D. Hooker   12 February 1867



Relieved that CD approves his declining the Presidency of BAAS. The BAAS and the role of scientific men in it.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 143–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5399

From John Lubbock   12 February 1867


H. T. Stainton should be elected F.R.S.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 170: 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5400

To William Benjamin Carpenter   [13–16 February 1867]


Asks for specimen [of Eozoon] for J. V. Carus of Leipzig.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Benjamin Carpenter
Date:  [13–16 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  Sotheby Parke Bernet, London (18 June 1979)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5402

To J. V. Carus   17 February [1867]


CD thinks JVC’s preface is fair to Bronn. Regrets JVC has not added notes of his own, but, having dropped Bronn’s appendix, it is perhaps best to leave the text without comment. Rejoices that the German public can now judge the Origin fairly.

Has written to W. B. Carpenter for a specimen of Eozoon to send to JVC.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  17 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 6–7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5403

From Edward Blyth   19 February 1867


Encloses memorandum on Origin [1866]

discussing mimicry in mammals and birds,

abnormal habits shown by birds,

behaviour of cuckoos,

and analogies existing between mammals of the same geographical region.

Speculates on possible lines of development linking groups of mammals.

[CD’s notes on the verso of the letter are for his reply.]

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Feb 1867
Classmark:  DAR 160: 209, 209/1 & 2, DAR 47: 190, 190a, DAR 80: B99–99a, DAR 205.11: 138, DAR 48: A75
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5405

To Edward Blyth   [18 February 1867]


Asks to meet EB for a walk in the Zoological Gardens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Blyth
Date:  [18 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5406

To Edward Blyth   [19 February 1867]


Is so unwell he must cancel appointment to meet at Zoological Gardens.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Blyth
Date:  [19 Feb 1867]
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5407

To J. P. M. Weale   22 February [1867]


Discusses JPMW’s paper on Bonatea [see 5411].

Mentions Robert Brown’s views on pollen.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Date:  22 Feb [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.326)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5409
Document type
01 (3)
02 (1)
04 (1)
06 (2)
07 (2)
08 (2)
11 (2)
12 (2)
13 (1)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (2)
22 (4)
23 (3)
24 (3)
25 (1)
26 (2)
27 (3)
28 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next