skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1863::07 in date disabled_by_default
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From John Scott   [26 July – 2 August 1863]


His orchid paper limited because he does not give illustrations from distinct genera.

Discusses the self- and cross-fertility of coloured primrose varieties. Thanks CD for tables of unpublished Primula work.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26 July – 2 Aug 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 89
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4175

To W. E. Darwin   [25 July 1863]


Relates events at Down;

asks WED to make some observations on Lythrum.

His present hobby-horse is tendrils.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [25 July 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 112
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4199

From J. D. Hooker   [21 July 1863]



Encourages CD to continue observations on tendrils.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [21 July 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 152–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4225

From J. D. Hooker   [31 July 1863]



Sends "tendrilliferous" plants.

Plans visit to Down.

Naudin’s paper on tendrils [Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 4th ser. 9 (1863): 180–203].

T. V. Wollaston snubs Bates’s work.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [31 July 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 154–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4226

To J. D. Hooker   1 July [1863]



Describes experiments on rotation of tendrils and shoots.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 198
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4227

From T. H. Huxley   2 July 1863


Too busy to examine specimen. Will ask W. H. Flower to do it. Long catalogue of what keeps him busy and concerned.

C. Carter Blake, "a jackal of Owen’s", is the reviewer in Edinburgh Review and Anthropological Review [see 4223]. Has sent back his diploma of Hon. Fellowship to Anthropological Society.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 166: 298
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4228

To John Scott   2 July [1863]


CD’s great interest in JS’s work on fertility of Primula crosses.

Thanks for Passiflora trials.

"By no means modify even in slightest degree any result."

CD wishes he had counted rather than weighed Primula seeds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  2 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B79; Linnean Society of London (Quentin Keynes collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4229

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   2 July [1863]


Asks M. J. Berkeley to identify the microscopical spherical bodies CD found in drops of yellowish rain-water that fell on his garden in a brief shower.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  2 July [1863]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, 18 July 1863, p. 675
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4230

To T. H. Huxley   3 July [1863]


Will be obliged if Flower examines specimens. States questions he wants answered.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  3 July [1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 229)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4232

From Asa Gray   7 July 1863


Has extracted CD’s Linum paper [Am. J. Sci. 2d ser. 36 (1863): 279–84].

Elaborate co-adaptations of orchids and insects demonstrate against "chance blows", whether few, as Oswald Heer would have, or many and slight as CD proposes.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 165: 127, 137
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4234

From L. E. Becker   8 July [1863]


Sends seeds of female Lychnis diurna; has found none in hermaphrodites.

On variation, hybridity, and inheritance of parasites in this plant.

Author:  Lydia Ernestine Becker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 110
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4235

From George Sigerson   8 July 1863


Discusses leaf form and phyllotaxy; clarifies a part of his paper ["On a protomorphic phyllotype", Atlantis (1863)].

Author:  George Sigerson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 177: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4236

To William Forsell Kirby   9 July [1863]


CD is particularly struck by WFK’s observations on Corsican and N. American subspecies in his paper ["On the geographical distribution of European Rhopalocera", Trans. R. Entomol. Soc. Lond. 3d ser. 1 (1862–3): [!?bib has 1862–4] 481–92]. Thinks it would be interesting for WFK to examine specimens from the Shetland Islands, for even faint trace of differentiation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Forsell Kirby
Date:  9 July [1863]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4237

To W. B. Tegetmeier   9 July [1863]


WBT progressing with breeding experiments for CD.

CD making quicker progress with Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  9 July [1863]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4238

From P. H. Gosse   13 July 1863


On CD’s request to observe bee Ophrys: PHG’s son collected 16 plants – of the 32 flowers, two had lost both pollinia, two had lost one each. He himself found two plants with pollinia adhering to the stigma.

Author:  Philip Henry Gosse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 165: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4240

To J. D. Hooker   14 July [1863]



Requests tendril-bearing plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  14 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 200
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4241

From Friedrich Hildebrand   16 July 1863


He and L. C. Treviranus have repeated many of CD’s orchid observations with the same results. Sends his paper ["Fruchtbildung der Orchideen", Bot. Ztg. 21 (1863): 329–33, 337–45].

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 166: 200
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4242

From Roland Trimen   16, 17, and 19 July 1863


Thanks CD for two letters and his portrait.

CD’s book [Orchids] opened up terra incognita for him.

His work on S. African butterflies continues.

Reports on a moth that punctures peach skins.

Interesting that thoughtful naturalists are forced to admit mutability of species.

Some notes on Oxalis.

Author:  Roland Trimen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16, 17 and 19 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 99: 13–16d, DAR 142: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4243

To Daniel Oliver   18 July [1863]


Sends F. Hildebrand’s paper for publication by the Linnean Society or in Natural History Review.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  18 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 51 (EH 88206034)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4244

To Julius von Haast   18 July [1863]


Acknowledges receipt of JvH’s letters and report of his expedition. Congratulates him on its success.

Has sent Origin.

There is hardly a place in the world as interesting as New Zealand with respect to geographical distribution.

Will quote the case of the ducks that nest in trees.

Is working hard on Variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Francis Julius (Julius) von Haast
Date:  18 July [1863]
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (Haast family papers, MS-Papers-0037-051-3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4245
Document type
01 (1)
02 (3)
03 (1)
07 (1)
08 (2)
09 (2)
11 (1)
13 (1)
14 (1)
16 (2)
18 (2)
19 (1)
20 (2)
21 (4)
22 (1)
23 (2)
25 (2)
26 (2)
28 (1)
29 (2)
31 (3)
Page: 1 2  Next