skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
1840::05 in date disabled_by_default
8 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To William Kemp   1[8] May [1840]


CD has read WK’s abstract in the Scotsman, 15 February 1840, p. 3, and asks for further details.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Kemp
Date:  1[8] May [1840]
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 10252/2) (gift of Ruth Cramond and David Cramond)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-565F

To Thomas Walker   5 May [1840]


Acknowledges TW’s letter supplying him with William Kemp’s address.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Walker
Date:  5 May [1840]
Classmark:  Jim Somerville (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-565G

From W. C. Redfield   6 May 1840


Thanks CD for information about Captain Tillard’s account of the volcanic eruption in the Azores in 1811.

Author:  William C. Redfield
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 May 1840
Classmark:  Yale University: Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library (William C. Redfield’s outbound letter book 1835–41 (z117 00151 2), pp. 179–80)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-565H

From B. J. Sulivan   12 May 1840


Gives CD the results of some calculations for "dip" over different distances, as requested.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 May 1840
Classmark:  DAR 177: 274
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-566

To Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures, and Commerce   13 May [1840–2]


Informs correspondent that he wrote to William Walton all that he knew about the guanaco.

Present state of his health prevents his acceptance of invitation to attend the meeting of the Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  secretary of R. Soc Arts
Date:  13 May [1840-2]
Classmark:  Royal Society of Arts (RSA/PR/MC/104/10/28)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-567

To A. Y. Spearman   20 May 1840


The fourth number of part one of the Zoology has now been published. The Smith, Elder & Co. account is submitted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  20 May 1840
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-568A

To Charles Babbage   26 May [1840]


Asks if he can bring his guests, J. C. L. and Mme [Simonde de] Sismondi and [Fanny] Allen, to CB’s parties.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  26 May [1840]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 37191: 294–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-570

To John Washington, Secretary, Royal Geographical Society   16 May 1840


Has much pleasure "in accepting the honour of being proposed as a member of the Council of the Geographical Society".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Washington; Royal Geographical Society
Date:  16 May 1840
Classmark:  Royal Geographical Society
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-568