skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1863::07::02 in date disabled_by_default
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From T. H. Huxley   2 July 1863

Summary

Too busy to examine specimen. Will ask W. H. Flower to do it. Long catalogue of what keeps him busy and concerned.

C. Carter Blake, "a jackal of Owen’s", is the reviewer in Edinburgh Review and Anthropological Review [see 4223]. Has sent back his diploma of Hon. Fellowship to Anthropological Society.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1863
Classmark:  DAR 166: 298
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4228

To John Scott   2 July [1863]

Summary

CD’s great interest in JS’s work on fertility of Primula crosses.

Thanks for Passiflora trials.

"By no means modify even in slightest degree any result."

CD wishes he had counted rather than weighed Primula seeds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  2 July [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 93: B79; Linnean Society of London (Quentin Keynes collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4229

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   2 July [1863]

Summary

Asks M. J. Berkeley to identify the microscopical spherical bodies CD found in drops of yellowish rain-water that fell on his garden in a brief shower.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  2 July [1863]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, 18 July 1863, p. 675
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4230