skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1863::01::26 in date disabled_by_default
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. B. Tegetmeier   26 [January 1863]


Has WBT ever heard of a case of the regeneration of monstrous (extra) toe on fowls?

Inquires about a curious pigeon reported at the Philoperisteron [pigeon fanciers’ club].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  26 [Jan 1863]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3944

To H. W. Bates   26 January [1863]


Congratulations on marriage, which CD considers the best and only chance for happiness in this world.

Glad HWB is near completion of book.

Begs him to thank Wallace for Melastoma information; CD "cannot endure being beaten by a beggarly flower".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  26 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3945

From Thomas Rivers   26 January 1863


Thanks CD for Origin.

TR has often thought naturalists do not pay enough attention to the effect of site, soil, and climate on animals and plants and "hence has arisen the enormous number of so-called species".

His observations on people of different counties.

Author:  Thomas Rivers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 161
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3946

From Friedrich Rolle   26 January 1863


Pleased that his book, Ch. Darwin’s Lehre [1863], has CD’s approval.

FR formerly a geologist, now a dealer in natural history objects.

Most active supporter of CD’s theory is Gustav Jäger in Vienna.

FR regards fossil Hipparion as a link between horse and pachyderms.

Author:  Friedrich Rolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3947

To Francis Trevelyan Buckland   26 January [1863]


Asks FB’s help in identifying an article in The Field about the fins of fishes growing again after being cut off, and inquiring whether he has heard of the re-growth of organs in the mammalia or birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Date:  26 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Christie’s, London (dealers) (23 June 1993, lot 146)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3948F

From W. B. Tegetmeier   [after 26 January 1863]


Does not believe in regeneration of monstrous toe.

Pigeon and poultry experiments.

Peculiar pigeon at Philoperisteron [pigeon fanciers’ club].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 26 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3949

From Isaac Anderson-Henry   26–7 January 1863


Has done extensive plant hybridisation: strawberry, raspberry, Rhododendron.

Author:  Isaac Anderson; Isaac Anderson Henry
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26–7 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 159: 61
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3948