skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
1847::03 in date disabled_by_default
11 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Thomas Salt   [March 1847]


Maer purchase-money; London and Birmingham Railway Company shares.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Salt
Date:  [Mar 1847]
Classmark:  Rachel Salt (private collection); sold by Spink’s (dealers), July 2018
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1066F

To J. D. Hooker   [1 March 1847]



Illness has delayed his departure. Will try to call on JDH on Thursday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [1 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 81
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1068

To Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette   [before 6 March 1847]


Corrects a misunderstanding of his description of salt deposits [in South America, pp. 74–5]. The salt referred to was from Rio Negro, and was coarsely crystallised and free of other saline substances found in sea-salt. CD believes its lesser value in curing meat is owing to the absence of muriates of lime and magnesia and suggests that it might be worth while to add them to the Rio Negro salt.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  [before 6 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, no. 10, 6 March 1847, pp. 157–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1069

To Charles Lyell   [7 March 1847]


Has received copy of CL’s Principles [7th ed.].

Comments on reading Annales des sciences naturelles.

David Milne’s and Robert Chambers’ views on Glen Roy.

Mentions sales of South America.

Describes visit to his father at Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [7 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.59)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1070

To John Russell   [10 March 1847]


Memorial presented by members of the British Association for the Advancement of Science and other scientific societies, submitting that natural history is inadequately provided for by the present constitution of the Board of Trustees of the British Museum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Russell, 1st Earl Russell
Date:  [10 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  House of Commons Parliamentary Papers: 1847 XXXIV.253–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1070F

To J. D. Hooker   [14 March 1847]



Thanks for JDH’s notes on species sketch. Proposes to drive to Kew to discuss them with him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [14 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1071

To Gustav von Leonhard   20 March [1847]


Honoured by GL’s review of Volcanic islands.

Sends copy [of South America].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gustav von Leonhard
Date:  20 Mar [1847]
Classmark:  Germanisches Nationalmuseum, Nuremburg (Historisches Archiv Signatur V)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1072

To Bernhard Studer   21 March [1847]


Sends copy of South America.

Will consult BS’s article in the Bulletin.

Recommends article by Daniel Sharpe ["On slaty cleavage", J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 3 (1847): 74–105].

Cites his description of thin laminae in volcanic rocks in Volcanic islands. Suggests similar process may have affected metamorphic schists.

Thanks him for offer of his book [Lehrbuch der physikalischen Geographie und Geologie (1844–7)]. Since he reads German poorly, BS should send book only if short and inexpensive.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bernhard Studer
Date:  21 Mar [1847]
Classmark:  Burgerbibliothek Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1073

To J. D. Hooker   [23 March 1847]



Health permitting, proposes to visit Kew on Friday.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [23 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1074

To J. D. Hooker   [25 March 1847]



Health bad, cannot get to Kew.

Will send Nulliporae to [L. A.?] Reeve.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [25 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 85
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1076

To Richard Owen   [6 March 1847]


A specimen of Machairodus offered for sale by F. J. Muñiz.

Discusses possible publication in England of paper by Muñiz describing the skeleton.

Sends pamphlet on scarlatina in the Pampas.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [6 Mar 1847]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Special Collections Owen correspondence 9/192)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-938