skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in addressee disabled_by_default
1871::07 in date disabled_by_default
24 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From G. H. Darwin   [c. 17 July 1871]


Gives CD some information on wills.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 17 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6765

From W. B. Tegetmeier   17 [July] 1871



Sends Field with an account of the cat show; examples of cats with three extra toes.

Sexual preference of a blue turbit.

CD did not return skull of the horned cock figured in Variation [1: 265].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 [July] 1871
Classmark:  DAR 88: 173–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7822

From G. H. Darwin   [17 July 1871]


Discusses legal matters; CD’s will and setting up trusts for Henrietta Darwin’s forthcoming marriage.

Author:  George Howard Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [17 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 210.2: 21
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7841

From J. D. Hooker   3 July 1871



Plans to write an account of his trip to Morocco and, with John Ball, the botanical geography, for Linnean Society.

Results mainly negative; the Atlas exhibits "the dying out of European flora".

Only two or three beetles above 8000ft.

Disappointed that Canary Island species are absent from Atlas mountains; but an ocean current along Moroccan coast should help migration of Spanish, Portuguese, and Moroccan seeds to Canaries and Madeira.

Describes Lyell’s poor physical condition. Asks CD for his observations of symptoms.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 103: 69–70, DAR 205.2 (Letters): 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7848

From J. D. Hooker   6 July 1871



He did observe that Ophrys apifera fertilised itself as CD described and O. lutea as well.

Moroccans are too civilised, taciturn, and unfriendly to make anything of them for expressions of emotions.

Moraines and negative results on Atlas alpine flora are the only points of the journey worth much.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 103: 71–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7851

From J. J. Moulinié   7 July 1871


JJM’s Origin translation is being held up so that it can conform to the 6th English edition.

Author:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 171: 276
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7853

From W. R. Grove   [5–8 July 1871]



Mammae in human males.

The role of natural selection in the development of beards and manes of animals.

Hereditary pointing in setters.

Author:  William Robert Grove
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [5–8 July 1871]
Classmark:  DAR 87: 190–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7854

From R. H. Blair   11 July 1871


Reports observations on expression in the blind; facial contortions and blushing.

Author:  Robert Hugh Blair
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 196
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7857

From A. R. Wallace   12 July 1871


Chauncey Wright’s article is sound, but so obscure ARW doubts utility of printing it separately.

Gives his own detailed analysis of Mivart’s attack.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 106: B103–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7861

From Otto Kratz   12 July 1871


Sends photographs of very hairy Burmese natives; suggests they may be the "missing link".

Author:  Otto Kratz
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 169: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7862

From John Coghlan   13 July 1871



JC offers to collect information under CD’s guidance.

Gives some notes on the colours of different horse breeds.

Mentions a wild duck that appears to be polygamous

and his observations on male ostriches with broods of young.

Author:  John Coghlan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 88: 164
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7864

From George Grove   15 July 1871


The cat exhibition was a success. Asks whether the next one might be made to serve interests of science and of CD’s investigations by, for example, offering prizes for cats with special modifications or characters.

Author:  George Grove
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 165: 229
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7866

From A. R. Wallace   16 July 1871


Sorry CD allows criticisms of Darwinism to worry him.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 106: B107–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7868

From Kaiserliche Akademie der Wissenschaften   16 July 1871


CD named a corresponding member of the mathematical-scientific section of the Kaiserliche Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Author:  Kaiserliche Akademie der Wissenschaften
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 230: 28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7868A

From Andrew Smith   18 July 1871


Thanks CD for a letter to Galton which enabled him to get information on the inhabitants of a part of South Africa. Is trying to work up the ethnology of South Africa, but fears he will become disheartened.

Author:  Andrew Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 177: 186
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7872

From A. G. Butler   18 July 1871



Observations on ocelli of Brahmaea certhia.

Monstrosity born to a woman – half bear, half human.

Author:  Arthur Gardiner Butler
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 89: 94–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7873

From G. C. Oxenden   21 July 1871


Will send Ophrys apifera var. lutea.

Author:  George Chichester Oxenden
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 173: 68
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7876

From J. D. Hooker   22 July 1871



Has given CD’s name to a species of Abutilon found by Fritz Müller.

Pleased at Henrietta [Darwin]’s engagement.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 103: 61–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7877

From J. D. Hooker   23 July 1871


Identifies Henslow’s mouse that used tail as prehensile climbing organ as Mus messorius.

Has not seen the Quarterly Review.

Inquires after Lyell’s health.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 166: 264
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7879

From H. G. Cavendish Browne   26 July 1871


Reports that a humble-bee fertilised a tropical orchid in his hothouse.

Author:  H. G. Cavendish Browne
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 July 1871
Classmark:  DAR 160: 328
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7882
Document type
letter (24)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
03 (1)
05 (1)
06 (1)
07 (1)
11 (1)
12 (2)
13 (1)
15 (1)
16 (2)
17 (3)
18 (2)
21 (1)
22 (1)
23 (1)
26 (2)
28 (1)
29 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next