skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1878::08 in date disabled_by_default
56 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   13 August 1878

Summary

Cannot help with correspondent’s study. CD has a poor ear for music. Recommends Helmholtz’s work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  13 Aug 1878
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11655

From George Rolleston   16 August 1878

Summary

Sends a copy of a letter from Herbert Blakeway of Illinois, which accompanied a pig’s head with wattles.

Discusses the Castle Martin breed of Bos, the history of which shows parallels with the Himalayan rabbits.

Author:  George Rolleston
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 176: 215
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11477

To R. A. Blair   4 [August] 1878

Summary

Thanks RAB for kindness. Says W. H. Flower will examine wings [of geese].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Reuben Almond Blair
Date:  4 [Aug] 1878
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.540)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11589

From Francis Darwin   [4–7 August 1878]

Summary

Experiments on effects of removing "bloom" from leaves and fruit.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4–7 Aug 1878]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11632

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   2 August [1878]

Summary

Thanks for plants and seeds; requests for more to test Sachs’s notion on "bloom".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  2 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W. T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 141–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11637

From Francis Darwin   [before 3 August 1878]

thumbnail

Summary

Sachs jumps to the conclusion twiners and tendrils are similar from the Menispermum that twined without a stick. Akebia grows down a stick; not only the free end is involved.

Sleeping plants.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 3 Aug 1878]
Classmark:  DAR 209.8: 152
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11638

To Francis Darwin   3 August [1878]

Summary

Is pleased FD’s climbing work goes well.

Thanks him for information on heliotropism.

Discusses sleep movements

and his observations on the sensitivity of radicle tips.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  3 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11639

To W. H. Flower   4 [August] 1878

Summary

Encloses letters from Blair on inheritance of injured wing in geese. Says specimens have been sent.

Mentions case of pigeon born without eyes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Henry Flower
Date:  4 [Aug] 1878
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.543)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11640

From A. S. Wilson   6 August 1878

thumbnail

Summary

Observations on dimorphic and trimorphic plants of Scotland.

On fertilisation of Scrophularia nodosa.

Author:  Alexander Stephen Wilson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 86: B19–20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11641

From George Bentham   7 August 1878

Summary

CD’s election to the French Academy delights GB. Nationalistic prejudices have at last been overcome; congratulates him on what is now universal adoption of his views.

Author:  George Bentham
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 160: 170
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11642

To Hugo de Vries   [10 or 11 August 1878]

Summary

Arranges for HdeV to call.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugo de Vries
Date:  [10 or 11 Aug 1878]
Classmark:  Artis Library (De Vries 4a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11643

To L. A. Errera   8 August [1878]

Summary

Regrets that LAE went to Down for nothing.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Léo Abram Errera
Date:  8 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.544)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11644

To J. F. Fisher   8 August [1878]

Summary

Agrees to read manuscript if short.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Francis Fisher
Date:  8 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  DAR 144: 106
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11645

To Hugo de Vries   8 August [1878]

Summary

Regrets he cannot receive HdeV at Down, because he has just left home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugo de Vries
Date:  8 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Artis Library (De Vries 3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11645F

To A. S. Wilson   9 August [1878]

Summary

Responds to ASW’s information about Erythraea

and about wasps on Scrophularia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Stephen Wilson
Date:  9 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 7339: 57)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11646

From Paul Broca   5 August 1878

Summary

Invites CD and Mrs Darwin to stay at his home if they plan to attend the International Congress of Anthropological Sciences, 16–21 August, and the seventh session of the French Association for the Advancement of Science, 22–9 August.

Author:  Pierre Paul (Paul) Broca
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 160: 314
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11647

From Gaston de Saporta   9 August 1878

Summary

Congratulations on election to the French Academy of Sciences, Botany Section.

Author:  Louis Charles Joseph Gaston (Gaston) de Saporta, comte de Saporta
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 177: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11648

To George Bentham   10 August [1878]

Summary

GB’s note has given him more pleasure than his election to the French Academy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  10 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: f. 718)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11649

From Alphonse de Candolle   10 August 1878

Summary

Congratulations on CD’s long-overdue election to the French Academy of Sciences.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Aug 1878
Classmark:  DAR 161: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11650

To T. H. Huxley   11 August [1878]

Summary

CD’s election to Botany Section of French Academy amuses him, because he "doesn’t know the characters of a single natural order!".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  11 Aug [1878]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 326)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11651
Document type
letter (56)
Date
1878disabled_by_default
08disabled_by_default
01 (1)
02 (1)
03 (2)
04 (3)
05 (2)
06 (2)
07 (1)
08 (3)
09 (2)
10 (3)
11 (1)
12 (3)
13 (3)
14 (2)
15 (5)
16 (1)
17 (6)
19 (1)
20 (2)
23 (3)
24 (1)
26 (1)
29 (3)
30 (2)
31 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next