skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1868::08 in date disabled_by_default
42 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To T. C. Eyton   25 August [1868]

Summary

Thanks TCE for copy of his book [Osteologia avium (1867)].

Recalls visits to Eyton.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Date:  25 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.353)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6331

To Eduard Koch   27 August 1868

Summary

Would like to see reviews of book [Variation].

Health has lately been indifferent.

Cannot at present pledge to give [EK?] translation rights to next book.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eduard Koch
Date:  27 Aug 1868
Classmark:  Interlibrium (Cat. 276)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6332

From B. D. Walsh   29 August 1868

Summary

On the delay in receiving CD’s new book [Variation] and his delight in a borrowed copy.

Encloses a Prospectus on his new periodical "American Entomologist" devoted to economic entomology.

Comments on the talents of his young partner, C. V. Riley.

Requests photographs for Riley of CD and Westwood.

Dr J. L. Le Conte has not yet received the request that he furnish CD with information about the stridulatory organs of Coleoptera.

Author:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Aug 1868
Classmark:  Smithsonian Libraries and Archives (Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology: Charles Valentine Riley papers, Scrapbook no. 9, p. 61); DAR 47: 180; DAR 193: 54; Field Museum (pasted into C. V. Riley’s personal copy of his own 1st Annual Report of the Missouri State Entomologist)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6332A

To J. J. Moulinié   29 August [1868]

Summary

Hopes JJM can visit tomorrow and stay the night.

Would like to ask Carl Vogt if he is still in London.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  29 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  Bibliotheque de Genève (Ms. fr. 1557, ff. 213–14)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6332F

From J. D. Hooker   30 August 1868

thumbnail

Summary

The newspapers’ pother about his mild theology.

Tyndall’s reference to JDH and CD as the two "modestest" men in science.

Huxley offended the clergy twice without cause or warrant.

William Hooker ill.

Astronomers do not like JDH’s reference to them.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 229–32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6333

From A. R. Wallace   30 August [1868]

Summary

On triumph of "Darwinianism".

Discussion of their differences on subject of protection.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 106: B65–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6334

From J. B. Innes   31 August 1868

Summary

JBI has been charmed with Variation. Does not think there is really any theological difficulty in the "predestination of variation".

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 167: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6335

From Edward Blyth   31 August 1868

Summary

EB is moving to Wiltshire for a week.

Tells CD of animals acquired, or about to be acquired, by the Zoological Garden.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 215
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6336

From G. D. Hinrichs   31 August 1868

Summary

Explains "Pantogen".

Summarises his papers.

Asks for help in finding a publisher.

Criticises d’Archiac’s review of Origin [in Paléontologie stratigraphique 2 (1864)].

Author:  Gustavus Detlef Hinrichs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 221
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6337

From Dyson Lacy   [before 13 August 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Answers to CD’s queries on expression in natives of Queensland, Australia.

[Forwarded by Edward Wilson to CD.]

Author:  Dyson Lacy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 13 Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 186: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6374

To Cassell, Petter & Galpin   [August–December 1868]

Summary

CD arranges for copies of some blocks [for use in Descent] from Brehm’s [Illustrirtes Thierleben (1864–7)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Cassell Petter & Galpin
Date:  [Aug–Dec 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6300

From Edward Blyth   3 August 1868

Summary

Discusses peacocks and the rediscovery of the long-lost crested turkey.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 219
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6301

From M. J. S. Schultze   4 August 1868

Summary

CD has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Bonn.

Author:  Max Johann Sigismund Schultze
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 96: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6302

From Robert Swinhoe   4 August 1868

Summary

Discusses a domestic oriental fowl.

Is having problems getting answers to CD’s queries on expression as Chinese facial expressions are limited and controlled. Answers as well as he can. [See Expression index.]

Author:  Robert Swinhoe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 331
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6303

To M. J. S. Schultze   [after 4 August 1868]

Summary

Expresses gratitude for the distinguished honour conferred upon him by the University of Bonn.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Max Johann Sigismund Schultze
Date:  [after 4 Aug 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6304

From Richard Bowdler Sharpe   5 August 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Is writing to Australia to answer CD’s questions about resemblance of tail-feathers of young and mature female kingfishers. [See Descent 2: 188.]

Author:  Richard Bowdler Sharpe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 98–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6306

From J. D. Hooker   6 August 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Coming on Saturday.

Baby and wife pretty well.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 102: 224
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6307

To G. H. Lewes   7 August [1868]

Summary

Thinks GHL’s articles are quite excellent; hopes they will be republished.

Discusses adaptation. Doubts whether similar conditions without selection can produce similar organs independent of blood relationship: "resemblances due to descent and adaptation can commonly be distinguished".

Discusses luminous insects, electrical organs of fish, thorns and spines.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Henry Lewes
Date:  7 Aug [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 42; Argyll Papers (NRAS 1209/985)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6308

From G. H. Lewes   8 August 1868

Summary

Gratified by CD’s approval of his articles, which the public has not much liked.

Clarifies the obscure sentence CD criticised – forms having a different genesis can be similar.

Calls CD’s attention to Kovalevsky’s memoir on Amphioxus [Mem. Acad. Imp. Sci. St.-Pétersbourg 7th ser. 11 (1868) no.4]. K’s views are all in favour of CD’s and against GHL’s.

Author:  George Henry Lewes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 99: 31–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6309

From George Cupples   10 August 1868

Summary

Thanks for photograph.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Aug 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 286
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6310
Document type
letter (42)
Date
1868disabled_by_default
08disabled_by_default
01 (1)
03 (1)
04 (3)
05 (2)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (1)
10 (1)
13 (5)
14 (1)
15 (1)
16 (2)
17 (2)
18 (1)
19 (4)
20 (1)
23 (2)
24 (2)
25 (1)
27 (1)
29 (2)
30 (2)
31 (4)
Page: 1 2 3  Next