skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1868::06 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
24 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   [after June 1868]



Testimonial for James Archer, who leaves CD’s service after six months.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [after June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 54
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5747

To Francis Darwin   8 [June? 1868]


A cheque written out for FD has never been presented to CD’s bankers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  8 [June? 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5769

To Linnean Society   1 June 1868


Requests 50 copies of his paper ["Offspring of illegitimate unions of di- and trimorphic plants", J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 393–437].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Linnean Society
Date:  1 June 1868
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (Fellows Files No. 6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6221

To Osbert Salvin   1 June 1868


Encloses some queries.

Would also like information about proportion of male to female humming-birds.

Reference to OS’s paper in Ibis, vol. 2.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Osbert Salvin
Date:  1 June 1868
Classmark:  Sybil Rampen (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6221A

To Fritz Müller   3 June 1868


Is glad FM approves of a translation of Für Darwin.

Hopes FM will think well of Pangenesis.

Sexual differences in insect auditory and stridulating organs.

Read FM’s paper on Balanus with great interest ["On Balanus armatus", Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 4th ser. 1 (1868): 393–412].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  3 June 1868
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 24)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6224

To S. J. O’H. Horsman   3 June 1868



Thinks SJOH is right not to return to Down. Asks him to forward certain documents. Hopes final arrangements will soon be made for a resident clergyman in Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Samuel James O’Hara Horsman
Date:  3 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 96: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6225

To John Scott   3 June 1868


As JS’s powers of observation seem to exist in all lines, CD begs further information from him and [H. N. B.] Erskine about the natives’ expressions of indignation, affirmation, and negation. The movements of the eyebrows and forehead of a girl in violent grief are of particular interest.

Do sub-breeds of pigeons exist in India as in Europe, but not in England? If so, what is the colour of the plumage in males and females at different stages of development?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  3 June 1868
Classmark:  Transactions of the Hawick Archæological Society (1908): 68–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6226F

To H. B. Tristram   4 June 1868


Asks about camouflage of birds in the Sahara desert.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Baker Tristram
Date:  4 June 1868
Classmark:  Private collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6227F

To T. H. Farrer   5 June 1868


"I have seen the action on Ophrys exactly as you describe and am thoroughly ashamed of my inaccuracy."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Date:  5 June 1868
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6230

To J. J. Weir   5 June 1868


Sorry JJW cannot visit.

Will go to sea-side for five weeks at end of July.

Does Vidua have double annual moult? [See Descent 2: 181.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  5 June 1868
Classmark:  DAR 148: 317; Duke University, Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library (RL.10387)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6232

To J. D. Hooker   6 June [1868]


Congratulations on birth of daughter. CD used to dread birth-time.

Sexual selection has turned out to be a large subject.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 June [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 69–70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6233

To Bibliographisches Institut, Hildburghausen   8 June 1868


Discusses possible English translation of A. E. Brehm’s [Illustrirtes] Thierleben [1864–9].

Asks for permission to use 15 of Brehm’s illustrations [in Descent].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bibliogr. Inst. Hildburghausen
Date:  8 June 1868
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.351)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6235

To B. D. Walsh   9 June 1868


Thanks BDW for new facts about Anthocaris [see 6156].

Asks BDW to observe stridulation apparatus in male and female lamellicorns.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Date:  9 June 1868
Classmark:  Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago (Walsh 13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6236

To T. H. Huxley   10 June 1868


W. S. Dallas asks whether Ray Society would publish translation of Haeckel’s Generelle morphologie. If THH thinks suggestion good, he might make inquiries.

Family news.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 June 1868
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Dawson 110)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6239

To J. B. Innes   15 June [1868]


CD writes in detail about difficulties with Horsman’s financial accounts and the affairs of the parish.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Brodie Innes
Date:  15 June [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6242

To J. D. Hooker   15 [June 1868]


Sends second lot of grass grown from locust dung pellets from Natal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6243

To John Lubbock   15 June [1868]


Has been looking at the school accounts. Has any interest been paid to S. J. O’H. Horsman this year? CD will keep accounts temporarily; he has not yet received from Horsman the balance in hand from last year.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  15 June [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6245

To J. D. Hooker   17 [June 1868]


On Pour le Mérite; JDH has made him think more highly of it.

Messiah is the one thing he would like to hear again, but thinks his soul might be too dried up now to appreciate it. Sometimes hates science for making him "a withered leaf" for everything else.

Frank [Darwin] now doing botany seriously.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  17 [June 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 72–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6248

To J. J. Weir   18 June [1868]


CD thanks JJW for letter about the crimson breast of linnets

and the fate of a pugnacious female bullfinch.

Refers to JJW’s pointing out the number of Jenners and Weirs who have been naturalists, and cites some writings by men of those families about striking cases of birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  18 June [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6250

To George Bentham   23 June 1868


Expresses thanks and pleasure at what GB has said about his book [Variation] in GB’s [Presidential] Address [to the Linnean Society, 1868, Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (1868): lvii–c]. "What you say about Pangenesis quite satisfies me".

CD discussed "bud-variation" to show that it was an error to believe all variability is due to sexual generation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  23 June 1868
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: f. 677)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6258
Document type
letter (24)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
01 (4)
03 (3)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (1)
08 (2)
09 (1)
10 (1)
15 (3)
17 (1)
18 (1)
19 (1)
23 (2)
24 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next