skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1868::01::01 in date disabled_by_default
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From George Brown   [before 1868]


Has “several times noticed eight permanent incisors instead of six in the jaw [of the horse]”.

Author:  George Thomas (George) Brown
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 1868]
Classmark:  Variation 1: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5313F

From Richard Barwell   [1868?]


Crying and the action of the orbicularis.

Author:  Richard Barwell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 52a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5749

From Osbert Salvin   [1868?]



Notes on sexual differences within certain species of birds.

Author:  Osbert Salvin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 172–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5758

From Hermann Müller   January [1868]


Thanks CD for his photograph.

Intends to start experimenting with mosses to determine which differences in structure are effected by altered conditions of life.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 288
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5770

To [G. R. Gray?]   [1868–72?]


Testimonial for a position as a librarian. Recipient is the author of a great monograph on the Picidae [woodpeckers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Gray
Date:  [1868–72]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6524

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [1868–70?]



Development of complex language does not require an early civilisation. [See Descent 1: 56ff.]

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868–70?]
Classmark:  DAR 80: 164–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7040