skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1867 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
193 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Athenæum   1 January 1867

Summary

Expresses his support for new books being sold with the pages cut.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  1 Jan 1867
Classmark:  Athenæum, 5 January 1867, pp. 18–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5343F

To [?]   22 [March? 1867]

Summary

CD must decline his correspondent’s kind offer [unspecified], but he is out of health and has passed the part about dogs in a work now at the printer’s [Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  22 [Mar? 1867]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5453

To [A. J. Woodhouse?]   25 January [1867?]

Summary

Two queries on teeth: 1. Is there evidence of inherited peculiarities in milk teeth?

2. Are male incisors longer than female?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred James Woodhouse
Date:  25 Jan [1867?]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 14 (EH 88206066)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13645

To George Robert Waterhouse   5 March [1867?]

Summary

Wishes to know the correct name for the British Museum’s specimen of an Abyssinian wolf described by Wilhelm Rueppell, Neue Wirbelthiere zu der Fauna von Abyssinien [1835–40] .

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  5 Mar [1867?]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF PAL/100/9/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1394

To Charles Henry Middleton   20 [1867?]

Summary

Sorry he cannot remember where S. Filippe [San Felipe?] is.

Doubts that bones of ox, sheep, and horse could have been deposited in guano [on coast of Chile], but they would be worth examination.

[Tipped in copy of Origin (1866) with CHM’s bookplate.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Henry Middleton
Date:  20 [Jan-Dec] 1867
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (in Middleton’s copy of Origin 4th ed., BB.5.6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5341

To John Murray   3 January [1867]

Summary

Sorry about enormous size of Variation MS, but cannot shorten it now. If JM is afraid to publish, CD will consider agreement cancelled. Suggests he ask someone with judgment to read the MS. Has written concluding chapter on man. Whether it will be included depends on size of volume.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  3 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 158–160)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5346

To William Bernhard Tegetmeier   6 January [1867]

Summary

Returns some of WBT’s skulls.

His MS is with printer, but book [Variation] will probably not be out until November.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  6 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5347

To T. H. Huxley   7 January [1867]

Summary

Gives up plan to have Haeckel’s Generelle morphologie translated.

His big book [Variation] has gone to printer. Thinks of adding a chapter on man.

Will order Duke of Argyll’s book [Reign of law (1867)].

"Nature never made species mutually sterile [by selection]; nor will man.–"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  7 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 233)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5348

To Ernst Haeckel   8 January 1867

Summary

Comments on EH’s "great work" [Generelle Morphologie].

An English translation "hopeless".

Asks about EH’s expedition.

MS of Variation sent to printers.

Fritz Müller working on plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  8 Jan 1867
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1-52/12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5349

To John Murray   8 January [1867]

Summary

CD annoyed at large size of Variation. Suggests printing detailed parts in small type. JM can, of course, decline to publish altogether.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  8 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 155–157)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5350

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   9 January [1867]

Summary

Criticisms and comments on JDH’s "Insular floras" in Gardeners’ Chronicle [(1867): 6].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  9 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5353

To John Murray   10 January [1867]

Summary

Relieved by JM’s note and by his agreement on type size. Is alarmed by what the verdict [on Variation] of JM’s friend will be. He is not a man of science. An unscientific reader would have condemned the Origin. An eminent semi-scientific man thought the Journal of researches not worth publishing.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  10 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 166)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5356

To J. D. Hooker   15 January [1867]

Summary

More comments on "Insular floras": community of peculiar genera in the Atlantic islands descended from European plants now extinct.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 5–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5361

To William Turner   15 January [1867]

Summary

Requests information about rudimentary muscles and organs in man. Asks about marrow of os coccyx, and about testes and ovaria in early embryos of both sexes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner
Date:  15 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Edinburgh University Library, Centre for Research Collections (Dc.2.96/5 folio 2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5362

To John Murray   15 January [1867]

Summary

Approves of type [for Variation]. Pleased to hear from Hooker that he is not surprised that MS is big.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  15 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 161)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5363

To Thomas Belt   15 January [1867]

Summary

Comments on MS on seed distribution sent by TB.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Belt
Date:  15 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5364

To B. J. Sulivan   15 January [1867]

Summary

Thanks BJS for W. H. Stirling’s answers [to queries about expression]

and for information on cattle and breeding of dogs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Date:  15 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Sulivan family (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5365

To John Lubbock   17 January [1867]

Summary

Encloses note of introduction to Murray.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  17 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 64 (EH 88206508)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5367

To Alfred Newton   19 January [1867]

Summary

Seeks explanation of the case of the Rhynchaea, of which the female is more beautiful than the male, with the young resembling the latter. Wallace has told CD that at Nottingham AN explained this by the male being the incubator.

Does the male black Australian swan, or the black and white S. American swan, differ from the female in colour of plumage?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  19 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 87
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5371

To J. D. Hooker   21 January [1867]

Summary

On recent instalment of "Insular floras" in Gardeners’ Chronicle [(1867): 50]. Approves of JDH’s abstract of argument for transport of species [i.e., migration, as opposed to continental extension hypothesis].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  21 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5373
Document type
letter (193)
Author
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
Date
1867disabled_by_default
01 (25)
02 (21)
03 (26)
04 (18)
05 (17)
06 (13)
07 (8)
08 (16)
09 (5)
10 (13)
11 (13)
12 (18)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next