skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1867::07 in date disabled_by_default
18 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. D. Hooker   29 July [1867]


Pleased JDH will come next Saturday.

Asks him to return Adam Bede.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  29 July [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5587

From J. D. Hooker   30 July [1867]



Plans to come to Down on Saturday.

Returned Adam Bede two years ago.

Wishes CD would return Tylor’s Early history of mankind

and his own Himalayan journal with his notes, "both of which I have lent, i.e., lost".

Lyell well and full of "Insular" difficulties which he will propound.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 July [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 172–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5588

To William Bowman   30 July [1867]


Plans to write a book on expression. Questions WB on orbicular muscle in screaming infant and function of muscle contractions in looking at a distant object.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bowman, 1st baronet
Date:  30 July [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 8 (EH 8820 6060)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5589

From Hermann Julius Meyer   30 July 1867


Sends fourth volume of A. E. Brehm’s Thierleben. First three sent at V. O. Kovalevsky’s request. Asks CD’s support for an English edition, since this is the first extensive popular work based on CD’s theory.

Author:  Hermann Julius Meyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 July 1867
Classmark:  DAR 171: 169
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5590

To Fritz Müller   31 July [1867]


Has abstracted for insertion in his sterility chapter [Variation 2, ch. 18], FM’s observations of plant’s pollen being poisonous to itself.

Occurrence of mimetic plants.

Colouring of Planariae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  31 July [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Loan MS 10 no 17)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5591

From E. A. Darwin   17 [July 1867]


Wynne [gardener] suggests he should be paid from the money from the sale of the Mount, but EAD suggests an annual subscription instead.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 [July 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5369

To August Kanitz   3 July [1867]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  August Kanitz
Date:  3 July [1867]
Classmark:  C. G. Boerner in Leipzig (dealer) (4–6 December 1911)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5576F

From J. D. Hooker   4 July 1867



Has been too busy to write. Is leaving for Switzerland that evening.

A friend, who ran away from home as a boy, has two sons who have done the same several times. Is the case worth investigating for CD?

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1867
Classmark:  DAR 102: 169–70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5577

To Ernst Haeckel   4 July [1867]


Congratulates EH on approaching marriage.

Sorry he will not visit in autumn.

Glad EH is re-examining Protoamoeba but puzzled to think what he can find.

Describes newspaper account of criticism by Agassiz of Generelle Morphologie.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  4 July [1867]
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1-52/15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5578

To A. R. Wallace   6 July [1867]


Acknowledgment of article on mimicry [Westminster Rev. 88 (1867): 1–43].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  6 July [1867]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 46434, f. 92)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5579

From J. P. M. Weale   7 July 1867


Has distributed CD’s questions on expression. Observations on the natives.

Floral structure encouraging cross-pollination in Polygala.

Author:  James Philip Mansel Weale
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1867
Classmark:  DAR 181: 41
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5581

From James Paget   9 July 1867


Will seek answers to CD’s questions on expression. Observing patients’ blushing. Is CD interested in the platysma during screaming under chloroform?

Author:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 July 1867
Classmark:  DAR 174: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5582

From Charles Lyell   16 July 1867


Curious to read what CD will say on man and his races.

Has CD seen Ludwig Rütimeyer’s Ueber die Herkunft unserer Thierwelt (Rütimeyer 1867c)?

Discusses J. F. W. Herschel’s theory of active volcanoes existing at the junction of continents and the sea.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 July 1867
Classmark:  Kinnordy MS (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5582F

From Salt & Sons   17 July 1867


Discusses proposed sale of house and provision for Wynne, the gardener, and his wife.

Author:  Salt & Sons
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 July 1867
Classmark:  DAR 177: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5583

From Fritz Müller   17 July 1867


Thanks CD for sending F. H. G. Hildebrand’s book on fertilisation [Die Geschlechter-Vertheilung bei den Pflanzen (1867)]

and J. D. Hooker’s "Lecture on insular floras".

Describes work on Rubiaceae, Oxalis,

and on crossing orchids. Lists crosses made.

As for CD’s query concerning sexual differences among invertebrates, he gives the case of the local amphipod, Brachyscellus diversilor. Male differs in shape of antennae and coloration.

Also mentions local fish in sea near Sta Catharina which emits melodic tone to attract females.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  17 July 1867
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 130–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5583A

To Charles Lyell   18 July [1867]


Chapter 12 [of Variation] finished;

too late to include information on six-fingered men. Plans for book on man [Descent].

Mentions coral reefs of Tahiti.

Discusses volcanic islands; volcanoes of the Cordillera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  18 July [1867]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.331)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5584

From J. D. Hooker   [27 July 1867]



Back from Switzerland. Mrs Hooker much improved.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [27 July 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 171
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5586

To Henrietta Emma Darwin   26 July [1867]



Prefers not to send her proof-slips of the present chapter [of Variation], which has been enormously altered, but will be glad to have her see slips and revises in future.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henrietta Emma Darwin; Henrietta Emma Litchfield
Date:  26 July [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 57
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5585