skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1862::08 in date disabled_by_default
32 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   21 August [1862]


Thanks for monstrous floral specimen, but it is a common one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Lawrences Auctioneers, Crewkerne, Somerset, 2009
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3693F

From W. E. Darwin   5 August 1862


Has read CD’s long letter on Lythrum and agrees with it. Is examining the pollen of the different types.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 27.2 (ser. 2): 32 bis, DAR 162: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3683

From A. R. Wallace   8 August 1862


Muscular fibres of whale no larger than those of bee – evidence of a community of origin.

Problem of the abortive wings of ostrich in relation to conditions of their survival.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 106/7 (ser. 2): 4–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3684

To Asa Gray   9 August [1862]


Believes Lythrum is trimorphic. Asks AG for seeds of plants he suspects are polymorphic.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  9 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (71)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3685

From Thomas White Woodbury   9 August 1862


Breeding cells of Ligurian bee are larger than those of common bee. Thanks CD for comb.

Author:  Thomas White Woodbury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 181
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3686

To W. B. Tegetmeier   12 August [1862]


WBT’s "too kind and flattering" article on Orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  12 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3687

From Asa Gray   18–19 August 1862


Notes and observations on orchids.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18–19 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 165: 111, 116
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3688

To A. R. Wallace   20 August [1862]


Family illnesses.

On disposition of wild honeycomb gift.

Discounts the difficulty presented by ostrich wings.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  20 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 28)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3689

From J. D. Hooker   20 August 1862



Observations on Welwitschia.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 101: 52–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3690

From Charles Lyell   20 August 1862


Jamieson has revisited Glen Roy and confirmed his theory of glacier lakes.

A. G. More considers CD the most profound of reasoners.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Aug 1862
Classmark:  K. M. Lyell ed. 1881, 2: 358; Kinnordy MS (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3691

To Asa Gray   21 August [1862]


Emma and Leonard have scarlet fever.

Houstonia seems "a grand case"; J. T. Rothrock should publish his observations on the two pollens and the reciprocal action of two hermaphrodites.

Rhexia glandulosa offers nothing odd, but Heterocentron will turn out something marvellous like Lythrum.

Would like to know what AG thinks of last chapter of Orchids.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  21 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (67)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3692

To John Lubbock   21 August [1862]


Leonard Darwin’s illness.

William Darwin and the bank.

Beginning to make out a marvellous case of trimorphism.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  21 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 261.7: 4 (EH 88205929)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3693

To Charles Lyell   22 August [1862]


Relates personal news about family members.

CD is "glad Glen Roy is settled".

Mentions evolutionary remarks on birds by Owen.

Compares variability among lower and higher organisms. Comments on Hooker’s view of the subject.

Forthcoming publication of Huxley’s book [Evidence as to man’s place in nature (1863)] and Lyell’s [Antiquity of man (1863)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  22 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.281)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3695

To J. D. Hooker   22 [August 1862]



Lythrum. Wants to examine fresh flowers of Lythraceae. Lythrum salicaria has interested him very much.


Asks whether JDH can think of plants that have different coloured anthers or pollen in same flowers (as in Melastoma) or on same and in different plants as in Lythrum. Would be a safe guide to dimorphism.

Observation of action of pollen in Linum grandiflorum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  22 [Aug 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3696

From J. D. Hooker   [26–31 August 1862]



On microscopes.

Cannot remember any plants but Melastoma with different coloured polliniferous anthers.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26–31 Aug 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 50–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3697

From John Lubbock   23 August 1862


JL’s Swiss tour with Tyndall and Huxley.


Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 170: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3698

To John Murray   24 August [1862]


CD is well content with sale of 768 copies [of Orchids]. Hopes and expects remainder will ultimately be sold.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  24 Aug [1862]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 125–126)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3699

From A. C. Ramsay   26 August 1862


Sends his paper [on glacial lakes, see 3450]. Falconer attacked it. Falconer thinks Himalayas confound the theory, but Hooker writes that it explains the absence of lakes there.

Author:  Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Aug 1862
Classmark:  DAR 176: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3701

From W. E. Darwin   [1 August 1862]


Suggests sending plant specimens. Asks about visit of Emma and the boys.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Aug 1862]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 13)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3585G

To Hewett Cottrell Watson   8 [August 1862]


Asks HCW’s help with his experiments on Lythrum salicaria, for which he needs flowers of the rare Lythrum hyssopifolia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hewett Cottrell Watson
Date:  8 [Aug 1862]
Classmark:  Archives of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Ernst Mayr Library, Harvard University (bMs 7.10.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3646
Page: 1 2  Next