skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1860::06::20 in date disabled_by_default
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Charles Lyell   20 [June 1860]


Blyth’s effort to raise money for a Chinese expedition.

Comments on free-will in animals.

Says natural selection is not in the same category with Huxley’s "force" and "matter".

Discusses remarkable variation in period of gestation in dogs and ducks.

Discusses Arctic flora.

Has been working on orchids; they beat woodpeckers in adaptation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  20 [June 1860]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.219)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2838

To H. T. Stainton   20 June [1860]


Has had a very satisfactory answer from Mr Parfitt. Asks HTS to insert query in Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer and also to answer it himself. ["Do the Tineina and other small moths suck flowers?", Collected papers 2: 35–6.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Tibbats Stainton
Date:  20 June [1860]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Special Collections MSS DAR 18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2839

To Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer   [20 June 1860]


Is it physically possible for moths to eat the pollen of Mercurialis? Believes moths may visit the smaller clovers to suck the nectar.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer
Date:  [20 June 1860]
Classmark:  Entomologist’s Weekly Intelligencer, 30 June 1860, p. 103
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2848