skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1853::07 in date disabled_by_default
6 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To C. S. Bate   7 July [1853]


Will quote CSB on discovery of Alcippe lampas.

Hopes CSB continues to look for Verruca on limestone.

Discusses use of CSB’s larvae illustrations [for Living Cirripedia].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Spence Bate
Date:  7 July [1853]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1521

To W. D. Fox   17 July [1853]


Discusses Rugby and education in general. The enormous proportion of time spent on classics checks interest "in anything in which reasoning & observation comes into play".

Expresses shock and sympathy on learning of the deaths in WDF’s house.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  17 July [1853]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 84)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1522

To J. A. H. de Bosquet   17 July 1853


Discusses valves in Scalpellum. Comments on JAHdeB’s research on cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Augustin Hubert de Bosquet
Date:  17 July 1853
Classmark:  DAR 143: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1523

To John Murray   24 July [1853]


Asks JM to forward letter [1525] to Francis Galton "the author of the very interesting volume" Murray recently published.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  24 July [1853]
Classmark:  DAR 249: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1524

To Francis Galton   24 July [1853]


FG’s volume on his African expedition [Narrative of an explorer in tropical South Africa (1853)] stimulates CD to express his admiration and to hope their acquaintance can be renewed.

Describes his health and life at Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  24 July [1853]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1525

To W. D. Fox   29 [July 1853]


Sympathises with WDF’s tribulations.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  29 [July 1853]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 83)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1526