skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1835::03 in date disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From R. E. Alison   [March – July 1835]

Summary

Sends some historical data to illustrate the elevation of the coast at Valparaiso in recent times.

Author:  Robert Edward Alison
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [March – July 1835]
Classmark:  DAR 36: 425–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-247

To W. D. Fox   [7–11] March 1835

Summary

Congratulates WDF on his marriage,

reminisces about Cambridge and early entomology. Now neglects entomology for geology.

Describes Concepción after earthquake.

Hopes to cross Cordilleras before they leave South America in September.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [7–11] Mar 1835
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 47)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-270

To J. S. Henslow   [10] – 13 March 1835

Summary

The termination of the voyage has been decided – September 1836.

The earthquake of Concepción.

His geological observations (since November). Can now prove both sides of the Andes have recently risen to considerable heights.

Zoological collection.

Plans to cross the Cordilleras.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [10]–13 Mar 1835
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 25 DAR/1/1/25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-272

From Caroline Darwin   30 March 1835

Summary

Urges him to return home. News of family and friends; the Langtons will go to Rio in April and then winter in the West Indies. Henslow has a son.

Author:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Mar 1835
Classmark:  DAR 97 (ser. 2): 20–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-273

To Caroline Darwin   10–13 March 1835

Summary

Definite plans now to leave Valparaiso 1 June and to arrive in Sydney in January; then Cape of Good Hope and home in September 1836.

Describes Concepción after earthquake.

Will cross the Cordilleras. Hopes snow will hold off.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Date:  10-13 Mar 1835
Classmark:  DAR 223: 26
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-271