skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in correspondent disabled_by_default
Smith, W. G. in correspondent disabled_by_default
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To W. G. Smith   6 November 1870


Thanks for the information sent by WGS in his letter of 4 November 1870.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Worthington George Smith
Date:  6 Nov 1870
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 54224: 196)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7359F

From W. G. Smith   24 July 1877


Reports a fossil fungus, complete with fossil zoospores, within the vascular bundles of a Lepidodendron from the Coal Measures. The genus is Pythium and it appears no different from living species.

Author:  Worthington George Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 July 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11068

From W. G. Smith   27 July 1877


Has examined some sea-kale and iris leaves sent by CD and does not think the scars are caused by fungus but rather through the action of insects. Feels "bloom" may protect leaves from such insect attack.

Author:  Worthington George Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 July 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 202
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11075

From Worthington George Smith   4 November 1870


Describes his children, who all seem to have inherited both dark hairs from their mother and light hairs from WGS with the latter greatly outnumbering the former.

Author:  Worthington George Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Nov 1870
Classmark:  DAR 177: 200
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7358
Document type
letter (4)
1870 (2)
1877 (2)