skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
1880::11 in date disabled_by_default
47 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To ?   5 November 1880

Summary

Refers correspondent to Descent for some information on marriage arrangements, and on the mental and moral nature of monkeys.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  5 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12797

To Nature   5 November [1880]

Summary

Sir Wyville Thomson misunderstands natural selection when he says the theory "refers the evolution of species to extreme variation guided only by natural selection". CD demurs at the "extreme variation" and the "only". No one has said evolution depends only on natural selection. CD has adduced many facts on the effects of use and disuse and on the direct action of the environment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  5 Nov [1880]
Classmark:  Nature, 11 November 1880, p. 32
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12800

To A. W. Howitt   [before 30 November 1880]

Summary

Thanks AWH for copy of Fison and Howitt 1880, which he will read when it is returned by J. F. McLennan.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred William Howitt
Date:  [before 30 Nov 1880]
Classmark:  St Mark’s National Theological Centre Library (Tippett Collection TIP 70/10/30/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12874F

To W. E. Darwin   30 November [1880]

Summary

Asks whether WED can collect some worm-castings from Beaulieu Abbey.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  30 Nov [1880]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 163
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12876

To John Crier   November 1880

Summary

Discusses matters relating to Great Western Railway Company stock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Crier
Date:  Nov 1880
Classmark:  DAR 202: 37
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12787

To W. D. Roebuck   [after 2 November 1880]

Summary

Expresses his gratitude for the Address he has been given.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Denison Roebuck
Date:  [after 2 Nov 1880]
Classmark:  Manchester Guardian, 2 May 1882, p. 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12790

To A. R. Wallace   3 November 1880

Summary

High praise for Island life; ARW’s "best book". Encloses notes of comments and criticism. Hooker pleased by dedication.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  3 Nov 1880
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434 ff. 292–3); Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Wallace Papers WP/6/4/1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12791

To Volney Rattan   3 November 1880

Summary

Thanks for seeds of Megarrhiza and for information in letter to Asa Gray.

Will send copy of Movement in plants in which Megarrhiza is discussed [see pp. 81–2].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Volney Rattan
Date:  3 Nov 1880
Classmark:  University of California, Berkeley, The Bancroft Library (BANC MSS 74/78 z)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12792

To W. D. Roebuck   3 November 1880

Summary

Thanks for address honouring him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Denison Roebuck
Date:  3 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Leeds University Library Special Collections (SC MS 429/89)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12793

To T. H. Huxley   5 November 1880

Summary

Has read THH’s review of Sir Wyville Thomson’s [Introduction to the] Voyage of the "Challenger".

Sends a draft of a letter for Nature [Collected papers 2: 223–4]. He particularly asks THH to decide whether he should include a certain paragraph [see ML 1: 389].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  5 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 344)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12796

To George Maw   8 November 1880

Summary

Believes the flexure in GM’s dead animals must result from the greater strength of the muscles on the left side. Thinks his son George once tested the strength of each leg of a group of boys, and CD could get his notes if wanted.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Maw
Date:  8 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Royal Horticultural Society, Lindley Library (MAW/1/18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12805

To A. B. Buckley   9 November 1880

Summary

Thanks for information about Wallace. Is preparing memorial to be submitted to Government [seeking pension for Wallace].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arabella Burton Buckley
Date:  9 Nov 1880
Classmark:  DAR 143: 183
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12806

To T. H. Huxley   13 November 1880

Summary

Sends draft of memorial for a pension for Wallace with suggested names of signers. Asks THH’s help.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  13 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 346)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12811

To Daniel Mackintosh   13 November 1880

Summary

Comments on DM’s ["The Moel-Tryfan shelly deposits", Q. J. Geol. Soc. Lond. 37 (1881): 351–69].

Comments on cause of earthquakes.

Believes formation of ice lowered level of sea.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Mackintosh
Date:  13 Nov 1880
Classmark:  DAR 146: 334
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12812

To G. J. Romanes   14 November [1880]

Summary

Comments on hybridisation; cites authorities. Sends book by Wilhelm Olbers Focke [Die Pflanzen-Mischlinge (1881)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  14 Nov [1880]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.574)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12814

To Henry Johnson   14 November 1880

Summary

Thanks for information on the slope of ground at Worcester.

CD’s passion now is worms.

Sends Movement in plants. While correcting proof, CD remembered an old article by HHJ, which he regrets not including.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Johnson
Date:  14 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12816

To A. B. Buckley   14 November 1880

Summary

Comments on her new book [Life and her children (1880)]. "… you have treated evolution with much dexterity and truthfulness".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arabella Burton Buckley
Date:  14 Nov 1880
Classmark:  DAR 143: 184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12818

To James Paget   14 November 1880

Summary

Surprising thought that diseases of plants should illustrate human pathology.

Will recommend A. B. Frank’s article in a German encyclopedia, on diseases of plants, to Francis Darwin.

Gives JP a good case of regeneration in plants – the radicle of the common bean. That plants have little power of regeneration is not difficult to understand by anyone who believes in Pangenesis, "if such a man exists … There is reason to think that my imaginary gemmules have small power of passing from cell to cell."

Refers to early experiments in which he tried to produce galls in plants by injecting poisons.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Paget, 1st baronet
Date:  14 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection (MS.5703/31)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12819

To G. J. Romanes   15 November 1880

Summary

Comments on GJR’s article on hybridisation.

Recommends his article ["Fertility and hybrids from the Chinese and common goose", Collected papers 2: 219–20].

Discusses crosses of Lythrum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  15 Nov 1880
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.575)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12820

To Williams & Norgate   16 November 1880

Summary

Although he cannot use the Neapolitan work, his respect for the service to science rendered by the Zoological Station at Naples leads him to subscribe.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  16 Nov 1880
Classmark:  Swann Auction Galleries (dealers) (4 November 2010, lot 46)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12823A
Document type
letter (47)
Author
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
Date
1880disabled_by_default
11disabled_by_default
01 (1)
02 (1)
03 (3)
05 (3)
08 (2)
09 (1)
13 (2)
14 (4)
15 (1)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (2)
19 (1)
20 (2)
22 (2)
23 (4)
24 (2)
25 (4)
26 (1)
27 (4)
28 (3)
30 (2)
Page: 1 2 3  Next