skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Wedgwood, Emma Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Wedgwood and Emma and Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1877 in date disabled_by_default
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From W. E. Darwin to Emma and/or Charles Darwin   c. 20–5 September 1877

Summary

Description of their English dinner companions at a foreign hotel.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin; Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  c. 20-25 Sept 1877
Classmark:  DAR 210.5: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11146F

Matches: 2 hits

From W. E. Darwin to Emma Darwin   26 October [1877]

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  26 Oct [1877]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 63)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11209F

Matches: 2 hits

From Emma Darwin to T. H. Farrer   [16 October 1877]

Summary

CD desires her to say that the cream of THF’s letter of congratulations about William [Darwin]’s marriage [to Sara Sedgwick] lay in the P.S. about "the beloved worms, and not in any such trifles as marrying, &c".

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st baronet and 1st Baron Farrer
Date:  16 Oct 1877
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London (LS Ms 299/28)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11268

Matches: 3 hits

From Francis Darwin   [14 June? 1877]

Summary

Forwards letters.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 June? 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10762F

Matches: 2 hits

  • Emma Darwin were away from home from 8 June until 4 July, visiting first Caroline Sarah and Josiah Wedgwood
  • Wedgwood , Emma’s sister, lived in Down. The letters to her have not been found. Francis played the bassoon. His ‘bassoon man’ was William Henry Stone , a physician at St Thomas’s Hospital, London ( letter from Emma Darwin

To G. J. Romanes   27–8 May [1877]

Summary

Discusses Francis Darwin’s paper on teasel [Dipsacus].

Comments on GJR’s investigation of spiritualism.

Comments on book by Grant Allen [Physiological aesthetics (1877)].

Invites him to visit

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  27–8 May [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.514, Mss.B.D25.546)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10973

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood and Josiah Wedgwood III at Leith Hill Place in Surrey, then moving on to visit William Erasmus Darwin in Southampton on 13 June ( Correspondence vol. 25, CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II), Emma Darwin’ …

To W. D. Fox   2 December 1877

Summary

Working hard on physiology of plants.

His son George sees no reason to change his view on marriage of cousins.

George’s astronomical work is too deep for CD.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  2 Dec 1877
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 155)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11266

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood , and her family, from 8 to 13 June 1877 (CD’s ‘ Journal’ (Appendix II)). Emma Darwin

From W. D. Fox   29 November [1877]

thumbnail

Summary

Congratulates W. E. Darwin, who is about to be married,

and CD for the LL.D. conferred upon him by Cambridge.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  29 Nov [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 201
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11261

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood and Susan Elizabeth Darwin were CD’s sisters. Susan had died in 1866; Caroline had been in poor health (see Correspondence vol. 24, letter to W. D. Fox, 26 May [1876] ). George Howard Darwin had published on cousin marriage (G. H. Darwin 1875; see also G. H. Darwin 1873b). Ellen Sophia Fox . CD had received an honorary LLD from Cambridge University on 17 November 1877 ( Emma Darwin’ …