skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Wedgwood, Emma Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Wedgwood and Emma and Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1860 in date disabled_by_default
8 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood   25 December [1860?]


Charlotte [Wedgwood Langton?] reports from Mr Wallis on time of day that sundew opens.

Author:  Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Dec [1860?]
Classmark:  DAR 181
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3030

Matches: 1 hit

  • … while visiting Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood , Emma Darwin’s sister, in Sussex. See ‘Journal’ ( …

To Charles Lyell   20 [June 1860]


Blyth’s effort to raise money for a Chinese expedition.

Comments on free-will in animals.

Says natural selection is not in the same category with Huxley’s "force" and "matter".

Discusses remarkable variation in period of gestation in dogs and ducks.

Discusses Arctic flora.

Has been working on orchids; they beat woodpeckers in adaptation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  20 [June 1860]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.219)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2838

Matches: 1 hit

  • … 1860 . Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood was Emma Darwin’s older sister. She lived in …

To Hugh Falconer   12 July [1860]


Eldest daughter [Henrietta] very ill.

CD enjoys Owen’s having had "a good setting down".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  12 July [1860]
Classmark:  DAR 144
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2865

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Henrietta Emma Darwin to convalesce at the home of Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood in Hartfield, …

To J. D. Hooker   [3 July 1860]



Reread JDH’s letter "with infinite pleasure".

Plans to visit Kew.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [3 July 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 66
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2856

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood was known in the family as ‘the kindly hospital for all who are sick or sorry’ ( Emma Darwin ( …

To Charles Giles Bridle Daubeny   16 July [1860]


Confirms CGBD’s impression given in a letter to J. S. Henslow that CD in the Origin did not touch directly upon the final causes of sexuality, which CD considers one of the "profoundest mysteries in nature". CD is inclined to stress sexuality as the means of keeping forms constant and checking variation although he grants its role in the origination of varieties. [See 2869.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Giles Bridle Daubeny
Date:  16 July [1860]
Classmark:  Magdalen College, Oxford (MC:F26/C1/118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2869A

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma and Henrietta Darwin at The Ridge, Hartfield, East Sussex, the home of Emma’s sister, Sarah Elizabeth Wedgwood ( …

To A. G. More   3 July [1860]


Thanks for orchid specimens.

On 10th and 11th will be at Tunbridge Wells.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Goodman More
Date:  3 July [1860]
Classmark:  Royal Irish Academy (A. G. More papers RIA MS 4 B 46)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2857

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma Darwin ’s sister Charlotte in 1832. Their home at Hartfield Grove was only a quarter of a mile from The Ridge, where Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood

To Asa Gray   22 July [1860]


Greatly praises AG’s discussion of Origin in Proc. Am. Acad. Arts & Sci. [4 (1860): 411–15; 424–6].

Mentions other reviews of Origin; believes the BAAS meeting at Oxford greatly advanced the subject. Has heard his views are gaining ground in Germany.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  22 July [1860]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2876

Matches: 1 hit

  • Wedgwood lived, from 10 July 1860 to 2 August (‘Journal’; Appendix II). CD had taken the water-cure at Edward Wickstead Lane’s establishment at Sudbrook Park, Richmond, Surrey, from 28 June 1860 to 7 July (‘Journal’; Appendix II). He refers to the long-continued illness of Henrietta Emma Darwin . …

From J. D. Hooker   [11 May – 3 December 1860]


CD’s divergent series explains those anomalous plants that hover between what would otherwise be two species in a genus.

Inclined to see conifers as a sub-series of dicotyledons that developed in parallel to monocotyledons, but retained cryptogamic characters.

Mentions H. C. Watson’s view of variations.

Man has destroyed more species than he has created varieties.

Variations are centrifugal because the chances are a million to one that identity of form once lost will return.

In the human race, we find no reversion "that would lead us to confound a man with his ancestors".

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [11 May – 3 Dec 1860]
Classmark:  DAR 205.5: 217 (Letters), DAR 47: 214
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3036

Matches: 1 hit