skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Wedgwood, Emma Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Wedgwood and Emma and Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1845 in date disabled_by_default
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Emma Darwin   [7–8 February 1845]

thumbnail

Summary

Mainly news of the three children.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [7–8 Feb 1845]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-810

Matches: 3 hits

  • … Darwin, C. R. Wedgwood, Emma Darwin, Emma
  • … DAR 210.8: 22 Charles Robert Darwin Down [7–8 Feb 1845] Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
  • Darwin, [8 December 1843] . See also Correspondence vol.  4, letter to John Higgins, 10 September [1847] . Sarah Elizabeth (Eliza) Wedgwood was Emma’ …

To Emma Darwin   [3–4 February 1845]

Summary

News of the children and books he is reading.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [3–4 Feb 1845]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (28 March 1983)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-821

Matches: 2 hits

To Susan Darwin   3[–4] September 1845

Summary

"All about household and money matters." The family is now living on about £1000 per annum. Plans a new walk and additions to the house.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  3[-4] Sept 1845
Classmark:  DAR 153: 109
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-913

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Josiah Wedgwood III , Emma Darwin’s brother. Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood, Emma’s …

To J. D. Hooker   16 [April 1845?]

Summary

Apologises that the house is full this weekend, but next weekend would be good.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  16 [Apr 1845?]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (JDH/2/2/1 f. 312)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-857G

Matches: 2 hits

  • Wedgwood , and presumably their six children, were at Down on Saturday 19 April 1845 (Emma Darwin’ …
  • Emma Darwin recorded in her diary a visit from a large number of relatives on a Saturday 19th only in April 1845 (DAR 242). CD and Hooker’s correspondence began in 1843 and CD first addressed him as ‘Dear Hooker’ in February 1844 (see Correspondence vol. 2 and Correspondence vol. 3, letter to J. D. Hooker, 23 February [1844] ). Emma’s brother, Hensleigh Wedgwood , …

To W. D. Fox   [13 February 1845]

Summary

News of his family and his own health. He is able to work three hours a day on the geology of South America.

Harriet Martineau is greatly excited by mesmerism.

Tells of Sydney Smith’s dream.

Asks for some [S. American] potatoes to test "sporting".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [13 Feb 1845]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 69a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-827

Matches: 1 hit

  • Darwin , CD’s second son, was born 9 July 1845. Emma ’s mother, Elizabeth (Bessy) Wedgwood , …
Document type
letter (5)
Author