skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1852 in date disabled_by_default
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Josiah Wedgwood III   20 November 1852

Summary

A statement of payments made by trustees to CD and by CD to trustees for the years 1851 and 1852.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III
Date:  20 Nov 1852
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 1019)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1490

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Alvey Darwin were the trustees of Emma Darwin’s trust fund: since Erasmus is mentioned in …

To Josiah Wedgwood III   21 October [1852]

Summary

Informs JW of his intention to sell his N. W. Railway shares.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III
Date:  21 Oct [1852]
Classmark:  DAR 210.10: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1488

Matches: 2 hits

  • … and North Western Railway shares in Emma Darwin’s trust were sold on 25 October 1852 at a …
  • … Charles Langton, Emma Darwin’s brother-in-law. The London and North Western Railway was …

To W. D. Fox   7 March [1852]

Summary

Congratulates and "condoles" with WDF on a tenth child.

On education, he has not had courage to break away from "the old stereotyped stupid classical education"; has sent William to Rugby.

The first Ray Society volume [Living Cirripedia] is finished.

Has joined in a society to prosecute violators of the act against use of children in climbing chimneys.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  7 Mar [1852]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 80)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1476

Matches: 4 hits

  • … Gerard, 2 1 2 years old. According to Emma Darwin’s diary, she and CD, with Henrietta and …
  • … in-law. Emma returned home on 10 April (Emma Darwin’s diary). Fox was rector of Delamere, …
  • … vol.  5, Appendix I). On 2 April, Emma and Susan Darwin travelled to Barlaston to visit …
  • Emma, that had I been, as I was in old days, I would have been certainly off that hour— You ask after Erasmus; he is much as usual, & constantly more or less unwell. Susan is much better, & very flourishing & happy. Catherine is at Rome & has enjoyed it in a degree that is quite astonishing to my old dry bones. — And now I think I have told you enough & more than enough about the house of Darwin; …

To W. D. Fox   24 [October 1852]

Summary

News of his health; has been well of late, but cannot stand excitement. Hereditary weakness is another of his bugbears.

At work on cirripedes – "I hate a Barnacle as no man ever did before."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  24 [Oct 1852]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 81)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1489

Matches: 4 hits

  • … On 25 October 1852, Emma Darwin noted in her diary: ‘Mr Sowerby came’. On 4 November CD …
  • … Correspondence vol.  3, letter to Emma Darwin, [24 June 1846] , n.  2). William Erasmus …
  • … 7 March [1852] . Horace Darwin was born on 13 May 1851 and was Emma’s last child until the …
  • … Susan Darwin, 22–31 July 1833 , for a description of Frances Jane Fox. Several of Emma’s …

To W. E. Darwin   24 [February 1852]

Summary

Is glad WED has made a good beginning [at Rugby?].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  24 [Feb 1852]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1474

Matches: 3 hits

  • … Correspondence vol.  5, Appendix I) and Emma Darwin’s diary). Bertie Peter Cator of The …
  • … CD, and later Emma, recorded their observations on the Darwin children. See Correspondence …
  • … then 4 1 2 years old. Leonard Darwin, 2 years old. CD and Emma visited William at Rugby on …

To Syms Covington   14 March 1852

Summary

Asks for details about the discoveries of gold in Australia.

Has published one book on barnacles [1851].

Sulivan has just returned from his cattle farm in the Falklands.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Syms Covington
Date:  14 Mar 1852
Classmark:  Sydney Mail, 9 August 1884, p. 254
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1477

Matches: 1 hit

  • … with the Darwins on 27 November 1851 (Emma Darwin’s diary) following his return to England …

To Richard Owen   17 July [1852]

Summary

Gratified by what RO says about his book [Living Cirripedia, vol. 1 (1851)]. The anatomical work is the only part he is really interested in; finds the "mere systematic part infinitely tedious"; but will be surprised if he is ever proved wrong on the males of Ibla and Scalpellum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  17 July [1852]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (General Special Collections Owen correspondence 9/188)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1484

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Cirripedia (1851):  28). According to Emma Darwin’s diary, CD was in London from 2 to 5  …