skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, Emma"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and Emma in keywords disabled_by_default
1842 in date disabled_by_default
12 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Emma Darwin   [9 May 1842]

Summary

Is "stomachy and be-blue-devilled" because of costs of publishing [Zoology and Coral reefs]. Wonders how the remainder [of the Zoology and Geology of "Beagle"] can be published without taking £200 or £300 out of their personal funds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [9 May 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-626

Matches: 9 hits

  • Darwin, Emma
  • … To Emma Darwin   [9 May 1842] …
  • … Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
  • … Wedgwood’s verses—an ‘epitaph’ on Susan Darwin ( Emma Darwin (1915) 2: 70 n. ): Here the …
  • … DAR 210.8: 20 Charles Robert Darwin unstated [9 May 1842] Emma
  • … whom Fanny Wedgwood was devoted. See Emma Darwin (1915) 1: 234 n. ; Arbuckle 1983 , p.   …
  • … the years 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1842. Emma Darwin ( …
  • … 1915): Emma Darwin: a century of family letters, 1792–1896. Edited by Henrietta …
  • Darwin, C. R. Wedgwood, Emma

To Emma Darwin   [8 March 1842]

Summary

Family news from Shrewsbury.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [8 Mar 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-622

Matches: 5 hits

To Emma Darwin   [13 March 1842]

Summary

News of family and of his stay at Shrewsbury.

Calculates the newly instituted income tax will mean £30 per annum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [13 Mar 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-623

Matches: 5 hits

To J. F. Royle   [2 February 1842]

Summary

Asks JFR to support E. A. Darwin’s election to the Athenaeum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Forbes Royle
Date:  [2 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Library, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617

Matches: 4 hits

  • … A. Darwin ‘came in triumphantly without one black ball’ (Emma Darwin to Jessie Sismondi, …
  • … 8 February [1842], Emma Darwin (1915) 2: 67). …
  • … Bibliography Emma Darwin ( …
  • … 1915): Emma Darwin: a century of family letters, 1792–1896. Edited by Henrietta …

To Susan Darwin   [late July–August 1842]

Summary

Has made an offer for house at Down, renting having been refused. Discusses price, risks involved, and Edward Cresy’s advice.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Date:  [late July–Aug 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 92: A16–17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-634

Matches: 4 hits

  • … Bibliography Emma Darwin ( …
  • … 1915): Emma Darwin: a century of family letters, 1792–1896. Edited by Henrietta …
  • … owner of Down House. The purchase price was about £2,200 ( Emma Darwin (1915) 2: 75). …
  • … See letter to Emma Darwin, [13 March 1842] , n.  1. …

To Mary-Anne Herbert   [5 May 1842]

Summary

Acknowledges Mrs H’s disappointing answer to his quest for a house in the country. Five miles from a railway station is "the length of my tether".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Anne Herbert
Date:  [5 May 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-628

Matches: 3 hits

  • … May 1842, Emma travelled to Maer (see Emma Darwin (1904) 2: 36). Charles Dickens’ Sketches …
  • … Bibliography Emma Darwin ( …
  • … 1904): Emma Darwin, wife of Charles Darwin. A century of family letters. Edited by …

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   25 September [1842]

Summary

Gives an account of his father’s illness.

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Sept [1842]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 258)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-644

Matches: 1 hit

  • … September 1842) from Charlotte Langton to Emma Darwin, describing a crisis in the illness …

To W. J. Broderip   [31 August 1842]

Summary

Discusses toad [mentioned in Journal of researches, p. 115].

Describes house at Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  [31 Aug 1842]
Classmark:  Harry Ransom Center, The University of Texas at Austin
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-640

Matches: 1 hit

  • … 47 , 5: 11) and Bell in Reptiles, p.  49. Emma Darwin moved into the house in Down on 14  …

To Catherine Darwin   [16 September 1842]

Summary

Emma and Doddy [W. E. Darwin] like Down. CD has met, and plans to employ, the local surgeon. "I feel sure I shall become deeply attached to Down, with a few improvements".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  [16 Sept 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 153: 6 (EH 88202298)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-633

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma and Doddy [W. E. Darwin] like Down. CD has met, and plans to employ, the local …

To Anne Susan Horner   [4 October 1842]

Summary

Emma recovering well from birth of third child, Mary Eleanor.

Sorry to hear Leonard Horner has been ill.

Has received high praise of Coral reefs from Lyell.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anne Susanna Horner
Date:  [4 Oct 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 1 (EH 88206053)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-648

Matches: 1 hit

  • … full. Emma joins in warmest thanks to you & believe me, Yours truly obliged | C.  Darwin

To Charles Lyell   [5 and 7 October 1842]

Summary

Discusses growth of various species of coral. Explains significance of dead reefs.

Describes meeting of the Council of the Geological Society; the controversy involving Edward Charlesworth.

Mentions conversations with William Lonsdale about Lonsdale’s work on corals and the financial support for his work.

Murchison’s views on glaciation in Wales.

Agassiz’s observations at Glen Roy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  5 and 7 Oct 1842
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.28)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-649

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma & baby are going on fairly well & Willy is twice as strong as he was in London. C.  Darwin

To W. D. Fox   [31 March 1842]

Summary

Second letter of condolence, following burial of Mrs Fox.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  [31 Mar 1842]
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-625

Matches: 1 hit

  • Emma however is uncomfortable enough all day long & seldom leaves the house,—this being her usual state before her babies come into the world— I trust time & your own innate powers of cheerful endurance will eventually make your future prospects appear brighter than can now seem possible— Farewell. — Let me hear from you again | My dear Fox farewell | Charles Darwin