skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Cooke, R. F. 11 John Murray"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Cooke and R and F and 11 and John and Murray in keywords disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
8 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From R. F. Cooke   12 April 1877

Summary

JM will be pleased to publish the new work [Forms of flowers] on the usual terms. MS has been sent to the printer.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Apr 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 487
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10927

Matches: 1 hit

From John Murray   12 November [1872]

Summary

Price of Expression is 12s.

Sends cheque to pay CD his share of profits on Origin [6th ed.].

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov [1872]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 430
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8622

Matches: 2 hits

  • … the letter to John Murray, 11 November 1872 . See letter from R.  F.  Cooke, 14 August  …
  • R.  F.  Cooke, 27 October [1872] and n.  6. See letter to John Murray, 11 November 1872  and n.   8. See letter to John Murray, …

To John Murray   12 May [1871]

Summary

Will require at least six weeks’ notice before a new edition of Descent has to go to press because of considerable corrections needed.

Thinks cheap edition of Origin is needed, since he could answer objections in it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  12 May [1871]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 244–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7755

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Murray, 10 May 1871 . The Darwins were visiting William Erasmus Darwin in Southampton from 11 to 19 May 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). See letter to R.  F.  Cooke, …

To R. F. Cooke   [after 11 October 1872]

Summary

Discusses printing of Expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Date:  [after 11 Oct 1872]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 284
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8537

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Murray, 27 January [1872] and n.  3. CD’s letter has not been found, but see the letter from R.  F.  Cooke, 11  …

To A. W. Bennett   17 July [1875]

Summary

Thanks AWB for review in Nature [probably review of Insectivorous plants, 12 (1875): 206–9, 228–31].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred William Bennett
Date:  17 July [1875]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 86
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10074

Matches: 1 hit

  • 11 July 1875 ). For the reservations CD expressed about the success of Insectivorous plants to his publisher, John Murray , see the letter to R.  F.  Cooke, …

From D. Appleton & Co   23 November 1875

thumbnail

Summary

Can cut the electros from the plates of the illustrations for the new edition of Variation if they are the same as in the first edition.

Has received plates for Climbing plants and will print immediately.

Author:  D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Nov 1875
Classmark:  DAR 159: 97
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10271

Matches: 1 hit

  • 11 October 1875). They were producing the second US edition from stereotypes provided by John Murray ; these in fact included the illustrations ( letter from R. F. Cooke, …

From R. F. Cooke   10 November 1880

Summary

Movement in plants needs only the index. Distressed by CD’s dissatisfaction with the indexer.

Eight hundred copies have now been sold. Type will be kept up.

Decision on printing additional copies should await reviews.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Nov 1880
Classmark:  DAR 171: 512
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12807

Matches: 1 hit

  • R. F. Cooke, 8 November [1880] and n. 4). A short notice, ‘New work by Mr. Darwin next week, with woodcuts’, appeared in Nature , 11 November 1880, p. xii; the book was also in the list published by John Murray

From R. F. Cooke   26 February 1878

Summary

Asks CD’s opinion on number of copies to be printed of Cross and self-fertilisation [2d ed.]. Now that it is revised, they will stereotype.

Type of Forms of flowers stands, awaiting CD’s corrections, before stereotyping and printing of more copies.

RC regrets delay in supply of Origin.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Feb 1878
Classmark:  DAR 171: 500
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11376

Matches: 1 hit

  • R. F. Cooke, 11 December [1877] . CD had agreed that Cross and self fertilisation 2d ed. would be stereotyped and the movable type broken up by the printers; see ibid. , letter to John Murray, …