skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   2 July [1875]1

45, Charles Street

How seldom things in this World dove tail in nicely— A wet day and the receipt of your interesting book was, however, all that I could wish2   I have been reading the Drosera’s with the greatest attention and am going thoroughly to digest every part—3 I did so enjoy my afternoon passed with you and Mrs Darwin and if it were not too much to ask—later on—if it were possible I should so like to come down again4 I leave London about the 6th of August

Ys most obliged | D Nevill

2d July


The year is established by the reference to Insectivorous plants (see n. 2, below).
Insectivorous plants was published on 2 July 1875 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). Nevill’s name is on the presentation list for the book (see Appendix IV).
The first twelve chapters of Insectivorous plants focused on Drosera (sundew); the plant’s digestive powers were discussed on pp. 85–135. Nevill had sent CD specimens of D. montana and other plants (see Correspondence vol. 22, letter to D. F. Nevill, 7 September 1874, and Insectivorous plants, pp. 281–2 and 431).
Nevill visited the Darwins at Down House on 4 May 1875 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Thanks CD for his book [Insectivorous plants].

Would like to visit again before August.

Letter details

Letter no.
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Charles St, 45
Source of text
DAR 172: 33
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10039,” accessed on 24 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23