skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1868::07 in date [X]
38 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   [before 1 July 1868]

Summary

Sends a copy of George Bentham’s Anniversary address to the Linnean Society of London (Bentham 1868).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [before 1 July 1868]
Classmark:  Deutsches Museum Archive, Munich (Pamphlet HS-Nr. 04130)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6262F

From William Thomas Bridges?   14 July [1868–70?]

Summary

Asks CD what prompts dogs of all kinds to roll themselves in decayed animal matter; inherited habit or immediate gratification?

Author:  William Thomas Bridges
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 July [1868-70]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 308
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13782

From H. B. Tristram   1 July 1868

thumbnail

Summary

On the coloration of 26 species of Saharan birds.

Author:  Henry Baker Tristram
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 93–4, 97
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6262

From Edward Blyth   2 July 1868

Summary

Has examined three races of the mouflon sheep and remarks on the extent of variation in them.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 217
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6263

From Alphonse de Candolle   2 July 1868

Summary

Offers notes and reflections on Variation.

Not convinced by Pangenesis, particularly its dependence on the Cytisus [graft hybrid] examples [ch. 27 and ch. 11].

What a book could be written on the application of natural history to man! Gives examples of inheritance in man.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6264

To Ernst Haeckel   3 July 1868

Summary

Thanks for two small works.

Will read essay on man [Entstehung des Menschengeschlechts] with much interest.

Generelle Morphologie reviewed by G. Bentham ["Anniversary Address", Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (1867–8): lviii–c].

Extremely sceptical of hare–rabbit hybrid.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  3 July 1868
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1:1–52/18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6265

From William Pole   3 July 1868

Summary

In Variation CD mentions colour-blindness in women. WP does not believe there are any proven cases.

Author:  William Pole
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 174: 56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6266

From Friedrich Hildebrand   3 July 1868

Summary

Thanks CD for mentioning his Corydalis and Primula experiments in Variation.

Has become Professor of Botany at Freiburg.

Encloses specimen of Corydalis cava.

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 209
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6267

From F. F. Geach   4 July 1868

Summary

Answers to Expression questionnaire.

Author:  Frederick F. Geach
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 165: 23/2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6267F

To H. D. Tristram   4 July 1868

Summary

Thanks for interesting letter. ‘How very curious the case of the bright-colour birds which conceal themselves in holes!’

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Baker Tristram
Date:  4 July 1868
Classmark:  The British Library (Surrogate RP 9485)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6267G

From John Addison   6 July 1868

thumbnail

Summary

Sends newspaper clipping about a nest of young birds, apparently hybrid offspring of a cock goldfinch and a hen green linnet.

Author:  John Addison
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 205.7: 279 (Letters)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6268

To Alphonse de Candolle   6 July 1868

Summary

Thanks AdeC for his long letter full of interesting facts, which will be of great use if a new edition [of Variation] is demanded.

As for when CD will publish on variation in a state of nature: he has had the MS almost ready for several years but Variation fatigued him so much

that "I determined to amuse myself by publishing a short essay on the Descent of Man".

AdeC will have plenty of time to publish his views. Asks permission to quote AdeC on a case of inheritance of scalp-muscles [see Descent 1: 20].

Hooker has expressed a view, similar to AdeC’s, "that morals & politics would be very interesting if discussed like any branch of Natural History".

Agrees with AdeC on acclimatisation

and on graft-hybrids.

CD is repeating Hildebrand’s method in producing graft-hybrid potatoes.

As for Pangenesis, very few people approve of it though it has some enthusiastic friends and CD has much faith in its vitality.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alphonse de Candolle
Date:  6 July 1868
Classmark:  Archives de la famille de Candolle (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6269

From Julia Margaret Cameron   [before 10 July 1868]

Summary

On the rental by the Darwins of a house at Freshwater Bay, Isle of Wight.

Author:  Julia Margaret Cameron
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 10 July 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6270

From J. M. Cameron   10 July 1868

Summary

More on the rental by the Darwins of a house at Freshwater Bay.

Author:  Julia Margaret Cameron
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6271

From J. D. Hooker   12 July [1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Sketches out subjects he intends to speak on at Norwich [BAAS meeting]: museums, CD’s work in botany, Pangenesis, early history of mankind.

Asks about CD’s "book on man" [Descent].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 July [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 220–1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6272

From George Cupples   13 July 1868

Summary

Offers deerhound puppy.

Asks for photograph.

Encloses letter from George Cupples of notes, with excerpts from letters from Peter Robertson and John Wright, relating to difference in size between male and female deerhounds. Reports on weight statistics of ten [deerhound] puppies being observed.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 83: 129–32; DAR 161: 285
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6274

To Charles Lyell   14 July 1868

Summary

Comments favourably, though often differing, on articles by G. H. Lewes.

Discusses claim of Agassiz [in A journey in Brazil (1868)] that he found evidence of glaciers in Brazil. Suggests sponsoring an expedition to test these claims.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  14 July 1868
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.352)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6275

To J. D. Hooker   14 July 1868

Summary

Thinks JDH would be wise not to touch on Pangenesis; it has very few friends. Bentham is doubtful, Carus against, and Alphonse de Candolle likes it least in the book. CD still convinced it will be hereafter looked on as "best hypothesis of generation inheritance & development". If JDH means to cut up Pangenesis he has no word to say in opposition.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  14 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 94: 76–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6276

From Alphonse de Candolle   15 July 1868

Summary

Corrects himself on Robinia pseud-acacia: its spines are stipules, which explains hereditary fixity.

AdeC’s observations on movement of scalp muscles.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 July 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6277

To Inland Revenue   [17–21 July 1868?]

Summary

Cannot fill out a return [for foreign revenue?] until his return home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Inland Revenue
Date:  [17–21 July 1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 55
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6278
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1868
07
01 (3)
02 (2)
03 (3)
04 (2)
06 (2)
10 (2)
12 (1)
13 (1)
14 (3)
15 (1)
17 (2)
18 (1)
20 (3)
21 (1)
22 (2)
23 (1)
25 (1)
26 (2)
28 (3)
29 (1)
30 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter