skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1868::05 in date [X]
74 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next

From J. J. Weir   [before 30 May 1868]


Reversion of tamed animals to wild behaviour.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 30 May 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 181: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5748

From W. D. Fox   [before 14 May 1868]



Pairing habits of birds: polygamy among ducks and canaries.

Information on the proportion of sexes in fowls and other birds.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 14 May 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 86: A83–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5762

To T. H. Huxley   [before 18 May 1868]


Questions on marmosets and the vocal organs of Hylobates.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  [before 18 May 1868]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 373)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6148

From J. J. Weir   [4–7] May 1868


Proportion of sexes in ruffs [see Descent 1: 306].

Colour display in linnets, songbirds. Courtship display of Australian pigeon at zoo.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4–7] May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 75–6, DAR 86: C3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6151

From A. R. Wallace   1 May [1868]



Answers CD’s objection [see 6121 and 6146] about sexual differences and protective colouring. Summarises his theory of colour in nature.

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 83: 191–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6153

To George Bentham   1 May [1868]


Sends Ernst Haeckel’s [Generelle] Morphologie [1866] and C. K. Sprengel’s book [Entdeckte Geheimniss der Natur (1793)].

A. Gaudry and L. Rütimeyer have declared in favour of CD’s views.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  1 May [1868]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–1884, GEB/1/3: f. 702)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6154

From James Murie   1 May 1868



Measurements of the Bornean ape (Macacus inornatus, Gray). [See Descent 1: 151.]

Author:  James Murie
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 80: B124, B156–7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6155

From B. D. Walsh   1 May 1868



BDW believes the coloration of species [of Anthocaris] provides a case of sexual selection.

The state of entomology in the U. S.; Darwinism now a common creed, especially among entomologists.

Author:  Benjamin Dann Walsh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 82: A115–16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6156

From George Cupples   1 May 1868


Has read Variation;

is preparing a monograph on Scotch deerhounds. Offers CD information on size of male and female deerhounds.

Might not the effect of human mother’s imagination on "character of offspring" support Pangenesis?

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 161: 283
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6157

From Edward Blyth   3 May 1868


Reports another case of syndactylism.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 214
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6158

From Gilbert William Child   3 May [1868]


Requests CD testimonial for Sherardian Professorship of Botany.

Author:  Gilbert William Child
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 May [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 143
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6159

From John Scott   4 May 1868


Replies to CD’s query on expression of emotions.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 177: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6160

To A. R. Wallace   5 May [1868]


Criticism of ARW for too little esteem of the role of sexual selection as agent in giving colour.

Response to other topics.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  5 May [1868]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 140–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6161

To G. W. Child   6 May [1868]


Cannot judge GWC’s fitness for the Botanical Chair at Oxford. But CD appreciates his work, particularly that on spontaneous generation [Proc. R. Soc. Lond. 13 (1863–4): 313; 14 (1865): 178].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gilbert William Child
Date:  6 May [1868]
Classmark:  Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP/LEGAC/1001/64)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6162

To G. W. Child   [6 May 1868]


Encloses a testimonial for GWC [see 6162]. Feels himself poorly qualified to give a testimonial for a botanist and apologises for his brevity.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gilbert William Child
Date:  [6 May 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 56v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6163

To Otto Staudinger   6 May [1868]


Asks about the ratio of male to female Lepidoptera.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Otto Staudinger
Date:  6 May [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 491
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6164

To J. J. Weir   7 May [1868]


Thanks JJW for his great assistance.

Discusses sexual selection in birds.

Sends queries on secondary sexual characteristics of birds.

Has often marvelled at the different growth of the flowering and creeping branches of ivy.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  7 May [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6165

From G. W. Child   7 May [1868]


Thanks CD for testimonial.

Author:  Gilbert William Child
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 May [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 144
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6166

To Asa Gray   8 May [1868]


AG’s review of Variation [Nation 6 (1868): 234–6] very good.

CD’s fondness for Pangenesis; although an "infant cherished by few", CD expects it to have a long life.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  8 May [1868]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (94)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6167

From George Cupples   11–13 May 1868


Answers CD’s queries on difference in size of male and female Scottish deerhounds; female preference for larger males; details about ratio of sexes born. Quotes from letter of Archibald McNeill on difference in size of male and female Scotch deerhounds.

Author:  George Cupples
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11–13 May 1868
Classmark:  DAR 83: 119–20, DAR 83: 121–6, DAR 85: B28
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6169
Document type
01 (5)
03 (2)
04 (2)
05 (1)
06 (3)
07 (2)
08 (1)
09 (1)
11 (1)
12 (2)
13 (1)
14 (3)
15 (3)
16 (1)
17 (1)
18 (7)
19 (4)
20 (7)
21 (4)
22 (3)
23 (3)
24 (1)
25 (5)
26 (3)
27 (1)
28 (2)
29 (1)
30 (3)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2 3 4  Next